Webcams Snow Report Weather Forecast Avalanche Report Current Information
Tischlermeister Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Made by hand

Master carpenter Anton Bereuter has built his dream toboggan

Carpenter Anton Bereuter
Vorarlberg Magazine

Bregenzerwald

Carpenter, joiner and tinkerer Anton Bereuter

When winter arrives in Vorarlberg and the first snow starts to fall, that’s when you’ll find master carpenter Anton Bereuter busy building his special toboggans. We visited him in his workshop in Alberschwende and asked him what makes his toboggans so special.

TEXT: ANNE SCHÜSSLER

It’s going to get loud now. Better put your earplugs in,” says Anton warning us. The circular saw starts moving with a loud screech. Anton pushes curved, glued wooden boards over the rotatingblade and cuts them into two halves. Wood dust whirls through the air, it smells strongly of freshly cut wood.

Anton Bereuter Rodel © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Tischler Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Anton Bereuter has built his dream toboggan – and now everybody wants one

A total of 60 separate parts are needed to make a toboggan. Anton makes them all himself.

Anton Bereuter is a master carpenter and joiner in Alberschwende in the Bregenzerwald – and the inventor and builder of the Ländlerodel. He starts his mass production, so to speak, as soon as the snow begins to fall. Word has spread about the quality of his toboggans. What makes a good toboggan? “The mobility, the sloping, curved runners – and, of course, the Austrian mark of quality,” says Anton. It all started small with Anton’s own passion for tobogganing. He established his company ‘Handwerkholz’ in 1998. And began work on his Ländlerodel to satisfy his own needs. But in 2006, he decided to sell the fun and sports toboggans he was making. Vorarlberg would now not be the same without them and the locals have started to affectionately call them ‘The Ländle’.

I tinkered with my own toboggan for 15 years. Now it’s perfect.

Anton Bereuter
Play
Videoportrait Anton Bereuter // Video: Fux & Hase; Musik: Philipp Lingg

Link video / integrate into website

“I make between 200 and 300 toboggans a season. It takes between three and four hours to complete one,” he says. Almost every step is done by hand. “It all starts with good wood. I only use ash. It’s the most flexible and doesn’t break that easy,” he says. The wood is dried first. He then cuts very precise strips from the wood on the circular saw. He glues seven strips together to make the two runners for one toboggan. He then places the glued strips into a gluing press that was made especially for him. This is where the wood is bent into the shape of the runners. A Ländlerodel is made from around 60 individual parts.

Rodelbauer Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodelbauer Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodelbauer Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus

A lot of manual labour: Anton makes all the parts himself

The wood and all the purchased parts are sourced in Vorarlberg.

The 51-year-old already starts making the individual parts in batches throughout the year, between his other carpentry and joinery work, which helps him manage the rush in winter. He then assembles them in winter. It’s not only the quality that’s important to Anton, where his materials come from also matters. “The wood is sourced from local forests and all accessories, such as the straps and flat sheets of material, are produced by companies in the region,” he says. “Products made here in Vorarlberg possess a quality that’s unique. I couldn’t imagine doing my job anywhere else.” Which means that the Ländlerodel has Vorarlberg running through its veins – as has its creator.

Products made here in Vorarlberg possess a quality that’s unique. I couldn’t imagine doing my job anywhere else.

Anton Bereuter

He’s almost finished the toboggan he’s working on. He uses the pneumatic stapler to attach red straps that will later form the seat to the frame. “That’s where, for example, the fun and sports toboggans differ,” he says. The fun ones have seats woven from red straps while the sports ones have a lower seat made from a flat sheet or leather. Anton occasionally likes to have some fun on his own toboggan after work. He prefers the sports toboggan. “Once you’ve been on that one, you don’t want to use anything else. It’s an entirely different feeling.”

Rodeln Bezau © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodeln Bezau © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodeln Bezau Restaurant Baumgarten © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Flexible and easy to steer: The Ländlerodel’s strengths are revealed on the toboggan run

  • The toboggans are available for purchase…
    …directly from Anton’s workshop and the Werkraum Bregenzerwald in Andelsbuch, where he’s a member, as well as from sports outlets across the region.

Further informations

The region

Bregenzerwald

Popular with skiing and hiking enthusiasts, Bregenzerwald is the place for those who appreciate the finer things of life. It’s famed for the surprising juxtaposition of traditional and contemporary architecture, innovative handicraft and the KäseStrasse. Exceptional: the Werkraumhaus in Andelsbuch. International: the Schubertiade Festival in Schwarzenberg.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht Service
Tischlermeister Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Von Hand gemacht

Tischlermeister Anton Bereuter hat sich seinen Traumrodel gebaut

Tischler Anton Bereuter
Vorarlberg Magazin

Bregenzerwald

Tischler und Tüftler Anton Bereuter

Wenn es Winter wird in Vorarlberg und der erste Schnee fällt, dann baut Tischlermeister Anton Bereuter einen Rodel nach dem anderen. Wir haben ihn in seiner Werkstatt in Alberschwende besucht und gefragt, was seine Rodel besonders macht

TEXT: ANNE SCHÜSSLER

Jetzt wird es laut. Macht euch besser die Ohrstöpsel in die Ohren“, warnt uns Anton. Mit einem lauten Kreischen setzt sich die Kreissäge in Bewegung. Über das rotierende Blatt schiebt Anton kurvenförmige, verleimte Holzbretter und teilt sie in zwei Hälften. Holzstaub wirbelt durch die Luft, es riecht intensiv nach frisch geschnittenem Holz.

Anton Bereuter Rodel © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Tischler Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Anton Bereuter hat sich seinen Traumrodel gebaut – und alle wollen ihn haben
Links die Sportvariante, rechts der Freizeitrodel

Aus insgesamt 60 Einzelteilen besteht ein Rodel. Alle baut Anton selbst

Anton Bereuter ist Tischlermeister in Alberschwende im Bregenzerwald – und der Erfinder und Erbauer des Ländlerodels. Sobald Schnee fällt, produziert er ihn quasi wie am Fließband. Die Qualität seines Rodels hat sich herumgesprochen. Was einen guten Rodel ausmacht? „Die Beweglichkeit, die schräg gestellten, gebogenen Kufen – und natürlich das österreichische Qualitätsgütesiegel“, erklärt Anton. Angefangen hat alles ganz klein und mit Antons eigener Leidenschaft fürs Rodeln. Seinen Betrieb „Handwerkholz“ eröffnete er 1998. Damals stellte er den Ländlerodel nur für den Eigengebrauch her. 2006 entschied er sich dazu, die selbst gefertigten Freizeit- und Sportrodel auch zu verkaufen. Seitdem sind sie aus Vorarlberg, von den Einheimischen auch „das Ländle“ genannt, nicht mehr wegzudenken.

15 Jahre habe ich am Rodel getüftelt. Jetzt ist er perfekt.

Anton Bereuter
Play
Videoporträt Anton Bereuter // Video: Fux & Hase; Musik: Philipp Lingg

Video verlinken / einbinden

„Pro Saison fertige ich zwischen 200 und 300 Rodel an. Für ein Stück benötige ich drei bis vier Stunden“, sagt der Tischlermeister. Fast jeder Arbeitsschritt ist Handarbeit. „Alles beginnt mit einem guten Holz. Ich verwende ausschließlich Esche. Das ist am biegsamsten und bricht nicht so schnell“, sagt er. Das Holz wird zuerst getrocknet. Anschließend schneidet er an der Kreissäge ganz präzise einzelne Lamellen von dem Holz ab. Für zwei Kufen eines Schlittens verleimt er sieben Lamellen miteinander. Anschließend legt er die geleimten Lamellen in eine extra für ihn angefertigte Verleimpresse. Dort wird das Holz in die Kufenform gebogen. Insgesamt besteht ein Ländlerrodel aus etwa 60 Einzelteilen.

Rodelbauer Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodelbauer Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodelbauer Anton Bereuter © Darko Todorovic / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Viel Handarbeit: Anton fertigt alle Teile selbst an

Das Holz und alle zugekauften Teile stammen aus Vorarlberg

Damit er den Andrang im Winter bewerkstelligen kann, fertigt der 51-Jährige schon während des Jahres, zwischen seinen anderen Tischlerarbeiten, die einzelnen Teile in Serie an. Im Winter baut er sie dann zusammen. Neben der Qualität ist Anton auch die Herkunft des Rodels wichtig. „Das Holz stammt aus heimischen Wäldern und alle Zubehörteile, wie Riemen und Flachplane, werden von Firmen im Land produziert“, erzählt er.  So ist der Ländlerodel durch und durch ein Vorarlberger – genau wie sein Schöpfer.

Die Qualität der Produkte hier in Vorarlberg ist einzigartig gut. Ich könnte mir nicht vorstellen, meinen Beruf woanders auszuüben.

Anton Bereuter

Der ist mit einem Rodel nun fast fertig. Mit dem Drucklufttacker befestigt er rote Bänder am Rahmen, die später die Sitzfläche bilden. „Darin zum Beispiel unterscheiden sich der Freizeit- und der Sportrodel“, meint er. Der für die Freizeit hat die mit roten Bändern gewebte Sitzfläche, beim Sportrodel ist diese durch eine tiefere Sitzfläche aus Flachplane oder Leder ersetzt. Wenn die Arbeit getan ist, dann schwingt sich auch Anton gerne mal auf seinen Ländlerodel. Am liebsten fährt er mit dem Sportrodel. „Wenn man einmal auf dem gesessen ist, möchte man mit keinem anderen mehr fahren. Es ist ein ganz anderes Fahrgefühl“.

Rodeln Bezau © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodeln Bezau © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rodeln Bezau Restaurant Baumgarten © Patrick Dopfer / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Flexibel und leicht zu lenken: Auf der Rodelbahn zeigen sich die Stärken des Ländlerodels

Auf der Rodelbahn in Bezau

  • Zu kaufen gibt es die Gefährte…
    … direkt bei Anton in der Werkstatt, im Werkraum Bregenzerwald in Andelsbuch, wo er Mitglied ist, und in Sportgeschäften in der Region.
    Bei der Talstation der Rodelbahn Bezau Baumgarten kann der Freizeitrodel (rot) auch ausgeliehen werden.

Weitere Informationen

Die Region

Bregenzerwald

Der Bregenzerwald ist die Region für Liebhaber der schönen Dinge. Beliebt bei Skifahrern und Wanderern. Bekannt für das überraschende Miteinander von alter und neuer Architektur, das innovative Handwerk und die KäseStrasse. Außergewöhnlich: das Werkraumhaus in Andelsbuch. International: die Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich