Webcams Avalanche Report Current Service Informations Weather & Traffic
Naturhotel Chesa Valisa (c) Heldentheater - Naturhotel Chesa Valisa
Holidays + Architecture

Naturhotel Chesa Valisa

From the old Walser people inn to a 4-star organic retreat – an impressive story of entrepreneurship and architecture

The Naturhotel Chesa Valisa, Rhaeto-Romanic for “Walser people house”, tells the striking story of Sieglinde and Klaus Kessler and their clear-cut business philosophy: intact nature, healthy living, conscious eating, healthy vitality and a love of culture.

The Chesa Valisa hotel complex is a model of how to build harmoniously in alpine regions.

HK Architekten (Hermann Kaufmann + Partner)

Over 4 generations, the old Walser people inn with its stables has been turned into a leading business in the Kleinwalsertal holiday region. The entrepreneurial family joined forces with renowned Vorarlberg architect Hermann Kaufmann and responded to developments in tourism and economic challenges across multiple construction phases. The Chesa Valisa became Vorarlberg’s first organic hotel in 2007 and has also been operating on a carbon neutral basis since 2019.

All construction phases since 2002 have had the same design vocabulary. They have brought together the various parts of the tourist operation to create a hotel complex of around 100 beds – spread over several buildings – using a consistently minimal approach. Ecological building materials were used extensively throughout the entire build.

The last renovation, completed in 2019, also marks the transfer of ownership to the next generation. After more than 30 years, Sieglinde and Klaus Kessler have handed over the reins to their children, Magdalena and David. And these two have continued building with architect Kaufmann. No extensions, though, as they want to develop the interior of the business. Operations have been optimised with construction work to the cellar, kitchen and buffet area, mainly out of sight of the guests. Rooms in the old building and existing rooms, plus a new dining area named “Kessler´s Walsereck” for restaurant visitors have been redesigned.

Architecture: Hermann Kaufmann Architekten, Schwarzach/Vorarlberg

Contact and booking

  • Naturhotel Chesa Valisa
    Gerbeweg 18
    A-6922 Hirschegg/Kleinwalsertal

    T +43 5517 5414-0
    E info@naturhotel.at
    Send non-binding inquiry

Schneebericht Lawinenbericht Webcams Wetter/Verkehr
Naturhotel Chesa Valisa - Hirschegg, Kleinwalsertal (c)Raphael Berthold/Chesa Valisa
Urlaub + Architektur

Naturhotel Chesa Valisa

Vom alten Walser Gasthaus zum 4-Sterne-Bio-Refugium - eine beeindruckende Unternehmer- und Baugeschichte

Das Naturhotel Chesa Valisa, rätoromanisch für „Walserhaus“, erzählt die eindrucksvolle Geschichte von Sieglinde und Klaus Kessler und ihrer klaren Unternehmensphilosophie: Intakte Natur, gesundes Wohnen, bewusste Ernährung, gesunde Vitalität und kulturelles Engagement.

Kesslers Walsereck, Naturhotel Chesa Valisa, (c) Nicolas Felder
Naturhotel Chesa Valisa, Hirschegg, (c) Florian Redlinghaus

Es ist eine Hotelanlage mit ca. 100 Betten entstanden, deren Größe nicht wahrnehmbar ist und als Muster für angepasstes Bauen in alpinen Regionen gelten kann.

HK Architekten (Hermann Kaufmann + Partner)

In 4 Generationen entstand aus einem alten Walsergasthaus mit Stallgebäude ein Leitbetrieb der Tourismusregion Kleinwalsertal. In mehreren Bauetappen reagierte die Unternehmerfamilie in gutem Einvernehmen mit dem renommierten Vorarlberger Architekten Hermann Kaufmann auf die touristische Entwicklung und die unternehmerischen Herausforderungen. Das Chesa Valisa war 2007 das erste Biohotel in Vorarlberg, seit 2019 wirtschaftet es auch klimaneutral!

Alle Bauphasen seit 2002 sprechen eine einheitliche Designsprache. Sie führen mit einer durchgängigen formal reduzierten Gestaltung die verschiedenen Teile des Tourismusbetriebs zu einer Hotelanlage rund 100 Betten – verteilt auf mehrere Baukörper – zusammen. Beim gesamten Bau wurden weitgehend ökologische Materialien und Baustoffe verwendet.

Der letzte 2019 fertiggestellte Umbau markiert auch den Betriebsübergang auf die nächste Generation. Nach mehr als 30 Jahren haben Sieglinde und Klaus Kessler an ihre Kinder Magdalena und David übergeben. Und die beiden haben mit Architekt Kaufmann weitergebaut. Nein, keine Erweiterungen, denn sie wollen das Unternehmen nach innen weiterentwickeln. Mit für Gäste nur wenig sichtbaren Baumaßnahmen in Keller, Küche und Buffetbereich wurden Betriebsabläufe optimiert. Neu gestaltet wurden Zimmer im Altbau und die bestehenden Gasträume, ein neuer Gastronomiebereich als „Kesslers Walsereck“ für Restaurantgäste geöffnet.

Architektur: Hermann Kaufmann Architekten, Schwarzach/Vorarlberg

Chesa Valisa, Restaurants, Hirschegg (c) Naturhotel Chesa Valisa
Zimmer im Naturhotel Chesa Valisa, Hirschegg, Kleinwalsertal, (c) Nicolas Felder/Chesa Valisa

Kontakt und Buchung