Webcams Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service Wetter/Verkehr
Das Haus von Lucia Riezler in Mittelberg © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Places of encounter

The Walserhaus (Walser House) of Lucia Riezler

It’s situated diagonally opposite the church, in Mittelberg’s ‘Gelbe Zone’ (‘Yellow Zone’) where traffic is limited to a speed of 20 kilometres per hour and pedestrians and drivers enjoy equal rights – and which as a consequence automatically became a place where encounters take place.

“Walser structures were always built in line with the points of the compass and not along streets”, says Lucia Riezler. She breathed new life into one such building that was built in Mittelberg in 1459. It’s situated diagonally opposite the church, in Mittelberg’s ‘Gelbe Zone’ (‘Yellow Zone’) where traffic is limited to a speed of 20 kilometres per hour and pedestrians and drivers enjoy equal rights – and which as a consequence automatically became a place where encounters take place. And then the house also tapers towards the street and is conspicuously bright. Hundreds of honey-coloured shingles cover the façade. They seem to radiate some-thing magical. “People touch them, stop and run their hands over them – that was something we first had to get used to because we live here and my tax-accounting firm is located on the ground floor. But it’s also a compliment for the work that we’ve done.”

 

Revitalisiertes Haus Mittelberg © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Lucia Riezler Mittelberg © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Lucia Riezler is proud of her house

Lucia Riezler and her partner, her family and the architect Max Dünser worked for one and a half year to turn her house into something that is so radiantly beautiful. They removed dozens of partition walls and paint and false floors, revealed the original wooden beams and walls, exposed and scrubbed everything down with wire brushes and sanded down the doors for hours on end. All with the help of tradespeople from Kleinwalsertal and in coordination with the monument conservation authorities.

People keep saying that this is actually Mittelberg’s new village square.

Lucia Riezler
Play
Vorarlberg from above: Mittelberg, Kleinwalsertal valley

Video verlinken/einbetten/teilen

Information

    • Sonna-Alp Sommer

      Sonna Alp

      Mountain station Zafernalift. Vegan, lactose & gluten-free dishes on reservation. Walserbus line 1 stop…

      Sonna Alp
      Sonna Alp
      Street: Bödmerstrasse 3
      Place: 6993 Mittelberg
      Phone:0043 5517 323832
      Website:http://www.sonna-alp.at
      E-Mail:info@sonna-alp.at

      Sonna Alp

      Mountain station Zafernalift. Vegan, lactose & gluten-free dishes on reservation. Walserbus line 1 stop -…

      Description

      As a real enrichment at the mountain station of the Zaferna chairlift, the Sonna Alp offers a unique view of the Walser mountain ranges and a range of dishes that make the choice a torment. All dishes are delicate and generous.

      all info

More stories

The region

Kleinwalsertal

36 mountain peaks encircle this idyllic valley, which is only accessible by road from Germany. Hikers, mountain bikers and winter sports enthusiasts appreciate the intact, largely untouched mountains where there are plenty of wonderful ways to relax and unwind.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service Wetter/Verkehr
Das Haus von Lucia Riezler in Mittelberg © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Orte der Begegnung

Das Walser Haus von Lucia Riezler

Schräg gegenüber der Kirche steht es, in der „gelben Zone“ von Mittelberg, wo Tempo 20 herrscht, wo Fußgänger und Autofahrer gleichberechtigt sind – und die dadurch automatisch ein Ort der Begegnung wurde.

„Die Walserhäuser haben sich immer an den Himmelsrichtungen orientiert – nicht an Straßen“, sagt Lucia Riezler. Sie hat in Mittelberg ein Walserhaus von 1459 zu neuem Leben erweckt. Schräg gegenüber der Kirche steht es, in der „gelben Zone“ von Mittelberg, wo Tempo 20 herrscht, wo Fußgänger und Autofahrer gleichberechtigt sind – und die dadurch automatisch ein Ort der Begegnung wurde. Und dann steht das Haus auch noch spitz zur Straße und ist so auffällig hell. Hunderte honigfarbene Schindeln bedecken die Fassade. Es scheint etwas Magisches von ihnen auszugehen. „Die Menschen fassen die an, bleiben stehen und streichen darüber – daran mussten wir uns erst etwas gewöhnen, denn wir wohnen hier und meine Steuerkanzlei ist im Erdgeschoss. Aber es ist ja auch ein Kompliment für unsere Arbeit.“

 

Revitalisiertes Haus Mittelberg © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Lucia Riezler Mittelberg © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Lucia Riezler ist stolz auf ihr Haus

Eineinhalb Jahre hat Lucia Riezler mit ihrem Lebensgefährten, mit der Familie und dem Architekten Max Dünßer gearbeitet, bis ihr Haus so strahlend schön war. Dutzende Zwischenwände und Farbe und falsche Böden entfernt, die originalen Holzbalken und -wände freigelegt und stundenlang mit Drahtbürsten gereinigt, die Türen abgeschliffen. Alles mit Handwerkern aus dem Kleinwalsertal und in Abstimmung mit dem Denkmalschutz.

Ich höre immer wieder, dass die Leute sagen: Eigentlich ist das der neue Dorfplatz von Mittelberg.

Lucia Riezler
Play
Vorarlberg von oben: Mittelberg, Kleinwalsertal

Video verlinken/einbetten/teilen

Informationen/Linktipps:

    • Sonna-Alp Sommer

      Sonna Alp

      Sommersaison geöffnet bis einschließlich 27.10.2019. Kein Ruhetag. Bergstation Zafernalift. Vegan, Laktose- & Glutenfreie Gerichte…

      Sonna Alp
      Sonna Alp
      Straße: Bödmerstrasse 3
      Ort: 6993 Mittelberg
      Telefon:0043 5517 323832
      Website:http://www.sonna-alp.at
      E-Mail:info@sonna-alp.at

      Sonna Alp

      Sommersaison geöffnet bis einschließlich 27.10.2019. Kein Ruhetag. Bergstation Zafernalift. Vegan, Laktose- & Glutenfreie Gerichte auf…

      Beschreibung

      Als echte Bereicherung an der Bergstation des Zaferna-Sesselliftes bietet die Sonna-Alp einen einmaligen Blick auf die Walser Bergketten und ein Speisenangebot, das die Wahl zur Qual macht. Alle Gerichte sind delikat und großzügig bemessen.

      Alle Infos

Weiterlesen

Die Region

Kleinwalsertal

36 Berggipfel umrahmen das idyllische Tal, das auf dem Straßenweg nur von Deutschland aus erreichbar ist. Wanderer, Mountainbiker und Wintersportler schätzen die intakte, weitgehend unberührte Bergnatur. Und finden jede Menge Möglichkeiten, sich wunderbar zu erholen.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich