Webcams Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service Wetter/Verkehr
Blick aus dem Panoramaraum, vorarlberg museum (c) Dietmar Dengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Experiencing the town Bregenz

with austriaguide Sabine Spiegel

Vorarlberg Magazine
Guided city tours

Guided city tour

Bregenz

Austriaguide Sabine Spiegel knows why the heart of the town is situated on the waterfront. And, during her guided tour of Bregenz, she also reveals where the best place to talk about art is

TEXT: KORNELIA DIETRICH


So let’s take it from the top, in other words, let’s start in the cosy upper town: only a handful of small streets, surrounded by a ring wall in olden times and fortified by several towers – that’s what the fort settlement that the Counts of Montfort built on the hill above Lake Constance in the 13th century looked like. We are standing under the last surviving gate to the mighty building at Ehregutaplatz 1 and are looking around: medieval houses everywhere, cobblestones, shutters, lots of half-timbered structures. “There are no hotels, restaurants or bars up here”, says Sabine, “which means that only people who live here can stay overnight.” And that’s just a small community of residents who know each other and who lovingly tend its squares and front gardens: fig trees, rosebushes, lavender, everything is in bloom and fragrant, which also delights the walkers who come to enjoy the view across the city, the countryside, the mountains and the lake from above.

Portrait Sabine Spiegel austriaguide © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Martinsturm Oberstadt Bregenz © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

The Martinsturm presents a panoramic view and an exhibition of the town’s history.
Sabine, expert in all things concerning Bregenz, is proud that there’s so much art here.

Sabine is an Austriaguide, a certified tour guide. Austriaguides speak at least one additional language and continue to regularly educate themselves further – many also offer special tours dedicated to specific topics. Sabine is an ambassador for guests with whom she shares her expert knowledge of the Vorarlberg state capital of Bregenz. The city does need to make some additional effort because it’s not outstandingly beautiful everywhere and it doesn’t have a picturesque old town at its heart. But it is a vibrant city of business – and it is situated directly on the waterfront. Sooner or later, everyone is drawn to the shores of Lake Constance, but first it’s necessary to cross the wide through road and then the railway lines.

Small numbers, big art – there’s always something to talk about in Bregenz

But perhaps it’s a blessing that Bregenz doesn’t only have picturesque aspects to offer because contemporary artists have always found it easy to make their mark here: Heinz Gappmayr, for instance, painted the number 0.0000000001 mm in huge letters on the wall of a house on Rathausstraße. A very small measure of length in oversized writing – it catches the eyes of everyone passing by. People who don’t know each other chat about what the number means – just as the artist intended. A stumbling block, a pause in everyday life, visual poetry.

Art in public spaces is one of Bregenz’s strengths, that’s what makes it so charming, there are exciting works to discover everywhere.

Sabine Spiegel
Stadtführung Kunstinstallation © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Kinder Drache KUB © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Kornmarktplatz Bregenz Kapelle © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Art installation by Heinz Gappmayr

Sculpture in front of the KUB

Particularly at the KUB, the Kunsthaus Bregenz, of course. The building polarises: Swiss architect Peter Zumthor created a simple cube clad with large glass shingles that pick up the colour of the nearby lake – a dark grey on rainy days and a light blue when it’s sunny. Artists loved the high, elegant rooms from the outset: Miriam Kahn, Mika Rottenberg and Simon Fujiwara, for example, have installed large exhibitions since the building was completed in 1997. But some of Bregenz’s residents weren’t that happy with their new Kunsthaus. Many thought it was too bare and even the prestigious accolades for architecture that have been heaped on it did nothing to change their opinions. “I didn’t like it much at first,” says Sabine.

But it was like a switch was flipped at some point. I noticed that I become very calm when I’m inside the Kunsthaus – it’s as if the building was slowing me down – the architect must have planned it that way.

KUB und KUB Cafe © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Kunsthaus Bregenz

The second famous museum was also controversial: the listed façade of the former district administration building, which, like the KUB, is located not far from Lake Constance on Kornmarktplatz, was transformed into the vorarlberg museum. This was achieved by placing a white plinth on it and decorating the concrete with flowers that the artist Manfred A. Mayr cast in the bottoms of PET bottles. Not everyone in Bregenz liked it. But the great experience that awaits inside has reconciled many critics to the museum: there’s a kind of oversized camera obscura on the fourth floor, which is a dark panorama room with a window that takes up a whole wall to present a view of the lake. “Wow! I would never have expected that!” One girl whispers.

Blick aus dem Panoramaraum, vorarlberg museum (c) Dietmar Dengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Vorarlberg Museum Bregenz © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

More than just a façade: the vorarlberg museum has been adorned with 16,656 concrete flowers to symbolise the trades and mass production

The Erzählcafé is the place to meet the locals in Vorarlberg and hear their stories

People get together at the museum on every second Tuesday of the month for the ‘Erzählcafé’ (‘Storytelling Café’). The topics: growing old, community and cohesion, or: life where Vorarlberg is home. That’s when visitors are also able to tell their stories and talk to each other about the often touching contributions – an unusually beautiful place for encounters. “The lake promenade is the heart of Bregenz,” says Sabine. This is where the pulse of life beats when the bar on the Fischersteg opens for aperitifs and visitors on their way to the Bregenz Festival’s lake stage start chatting excitedly about how much they’re looking forward to the opera. The enthusiasm is infectious here and visitors are able to immerse themselves in the shimmering atmosphere between the Festspielhaus and the bold structure that is the casino.

Stadtführung Seebühne © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rigoletto, Seebühne, 2019, virtuelle Kultur Vorarlberg (c) Anja Köhler / Bregenzer Festspiele
Festspielhaus mit Platz der Wiener Symphoniker 2 © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Im Cafe Vorarlberg Museum © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Vorarlberg Lines © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Scary and beautiful: the stage design for Verdi’s ‘Rigoletto’ on the Bregenz Festival’s lake stage is not only a big draw for opera fans

Platz der Wiener Symphoniker

Museumscafé

More Stories

The region

Bodensee-Vorarlberg

The lively small cities of Bregenz, Dornbirn, Hohenems and Feldkirch boast a vibrant atmosphere. Festivals such as the Bregenz Festival attract international attention, there’s amazing modern architecture and museums open up new perspectives. The natural spectacle of the mountains is reflected in the waters of Lake Constance and can be enjoyed from on high.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service Wetter/Verkehr
Blick aus dem Panoramaraum, vorarlberg museum (c) Dietmar Dengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Stadterlebnis in Bregenz

Unterwegs mit austriaguide Sabine Spiegel

Vorarlberg Magazin
Stadtführungen

Stadterlebnis

Bregenz

Warum das Herz der Stadt am Wasser liegt, weiß austriaguide Sabine Spiegel. Auf ihrer Tour durch Bregenz verrät sie auch, wo man hier am besten über Kunst streiten kann.

TEXT: KORNELIA DIETRICH


Fangen wir doch am besten ganz oben an, in der gemütlichen Oberstadt: Nur eine Handvoll kleiner Straßen, früher von einer Ringmauer umgeben und von mehreren Türmen bewehrt – so sah die Burgsiedlung aus, die die Grafen von Monfort auf dem Hügel über dem Bodensee im 13. Jahrhun­dert errichteten. Wir stehen unter dem noch erhaltenen Tor des mächtigen Hauses am Ehregutaplatz 1 und schauen uns um: überall mittelalterliche Häuser, Kopf­steinpflaster, Fensterläden, viel Fachwerk. „Hier oben gibt es kein Hotel, kein Restaurant, keine Bar“, erzählt Sabine Spiegel, „es können bis heute also nur die über Nacht bleiben, die hier wohnen.“ Und das ist eine kleine Gemeinschaft, die sich kennt und die ihre Plätze und Vorgärten liebevoll pflegt: Feigenbäume, Rosenstöcke, Lavendel, alles blüht und duftet, auch zur Freude der Spaziergänger, die von oben den Blick über Stadt, Land, Berg und See genießen.

Portrait Sabine Spiegel austriaguide © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Martinsturm Oberstadt Bregenz © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Im Martinsturm gibt es Rund­umblick und eine stadthistorische Ausstellung.
Bregenz-Profi Sabine Spiegel freut sich über die viele Kunst in der Stadt

Sabine Spiegel ist ein austriaguide, eine staatlich ge­prüfte Gästeführerin. Mindestens eine Fremdsprache sprechen austriaguides und sie bilden sich regelmäßig weiter – viele bieten auch interessante Themenrund­gänge an. Für Urlauber ist Spiegel eine Botschafterin, die ihnen die Vorarlberger Landeshauptstadt Bregenz nahebringt. Etwas anstrengen muss sich die Kapitale, sie ist nicht überall augenfällig schön, ihr Herz ist keine malerische Altstadt. Bregenz ist eine pulsierende Geschäftsstadt – direkt am Wasser gelegen. Alle zieht es früher oder später ans Ufer des Bodensees, doch dazu gilt es zunächst, die breite Durchgangsstraße und dann die Bahntrassen zu überqueren.

Kleine Zahlen, große Kunst: Bregenz sorgt immer für Gesprächsstoff

Aber vielleicht ist es ein Segen, dass Bregenz nicht nur malerische Winkel hat – zeitgenössische Künstler hatten es hier immer leicht, ihre Markierungen zu setzen: Riesig groß hat Heinz Gappmayr die Zahl 0,0000000001 mm in der Rathausstraße auf eine Haus­wand gemalt. Eine sehr kleines Längenmaß in über­dimensionaler Schrift – jeder, der vorbeigeht, bleibt mit seinem Blick daran hängen. Fremde Menschen diskutieren gemeinsam über die Bedeutung der Zahl, genau wie es der Künstler gewollt hat. Ein Stolperstein, ein Innehalten im Alltag, visuelle Poesie.

Die Kunst im öffentlichen Raum ist eine Stärke von Bregenz, das macht ihren Charme aus: Überall gibt es spannende Werke zu entdecken.

Sabine Spiegel
Stadtführung Kunstinstallation © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Kinder Drache KUB © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Kornmarktplatz Bregenz Kapelle © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Kunstinstallation von Heinz Gappmayr

Skultpur lädt zum interagieren ein vor dem Kunsthaus

Vor allem natürlich im KUB, im Kunsthaus Bregenz. Der Bau polarisiert: Der Schweizer Architekt Peter Zumthor schuf hier einen schlichten Kubus, der mit großen Glasschindeln verkleidet ist. Sie nehmen die Farbe des nahen Sees auf, dunkelgrau wirkt die Fassade bei Regen, hellblau an Sonnentagen. Künstler haben die hohen, eleganten Räume von Anfang an geliebt: Miriam Kahn, Mika Rottenberg und Simon Fujiwara etwa haben seit der Fertigstellung 1997 große Ausstellungen installiert. Nicht so sehr liebten manche Bregenzer ihr neues Kunsthaus. Zu schmucklos schien es vielen, daran änderten auch die renommierten Architekturpreise nichts. „Ich habe mich anfangs auch schwergetan“, erinnert sich Sabine Spiegel.

Aber irgendwann war es, als wäre ein Schalter umgelegt. Ich habe festgestellt, dass ich im Inneren des Hauses ganz ruhig werde, als würde der Bau mich runterbringen – das hat der Architekt bestimmt so geplant.

KUB und KUB Cafe © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Das Kunsthaus in Bregenz

Auch das zweite berühmte Museum hat Widerspruch ausgelöst: Für das vorarlberg museum, wie das KUB unweit des Bodensees am Kornmarktplatz gelegen, wurde auf die denkmalgeschützte Fassade der ehe­maligen Bezirkshauptmannschaft ein weißer Sockel aufgesetzt, verziert mit Betonblüten, die der Künstler Manfred A. Mayr in Böden von PET­ Flaschen gegossen hat – was nicht jedem in Bregenz gefallen hat. Drinnen wartet aber ein so großartiges Erlebnis, dass viele Kritiker versöhnt sind: Im vierten Stock gibt es eine Art überdimensionale Camera obscura, ein dunkler Panoramaraum mit einem Fenster, das die ganze Wand einnimmt und den Blick auf den See freigibt. „Wow, das hätte ich nie erwartet!“, flüstert ein Mädchen.

Blick aus dem Panoramaraum, vorarlberg museum (c) Dietmar Dengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Vorarlberg Museum Bregenz © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Mehr als Fassade: Das vorarlberg museum zieren 16.656 Beton­blüten als Symbol für Handwerk und Massen­produktion

Im Erzählcafé begegnet man den Vorarlbergern und ihren Geschichten

Jeden zweiten Dienstag im Monat treffen sich Menschen im Museum zum „Erzählcafé“. Die Themen: das liebe Alter, Gemeinschaft und Zusammenhalt oder auch – Heimat Vorarlberg. Dann kommen Besucher zu Wort und über die oft anrührenden Beiträge mitei nander ins Gespräch – ein ungewöhnlich schöner Ort der Begeg­nung. „Die Seepromenade ist das Herz von Bregenz“, sagt Sabine Spiegel. Hier pulsiert das Leben, wenn auf dem Fischersteg die Bar zum Apero öffnet und Besucher auf dem Weg zur Seebühne in aufgeregter Vorfreude über die Opernaufführung sprechen. Hier kann man sich von der Begeisterung anstecken lassen, eintauchen in die flirrende Atmosphäre zwischen Fest­spielhaus und dem kühnen Bau des Casinos.

Stadtführung Seebühne © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Rigoletto, Seebühne, 2019, virtuelle Kultur Vorarlberg (c) Anja Köhler / Bregenzer Festspiele
Festspielhaus mit Platz der Wiener Symphoniker 2 © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Im Cafe Vorarlberg Museum © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Vorarlberg Lines © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Schaurig-schön: Das Bühnenbild von Verdis „Rigoletto“ auf der Bregenzer Seebühne fasziniert nicht nur Opernfans

Platz der Wiener Symphoniker

Das Museumscafé

Weiterlesen

Die Region

Bodensee-Vorarlberg

Beschwingt ist das Lebensgefühl in den lebendigen Kleinstädten Bregenz, Dornbirn, Hohenems und Feldkirch. Internationales Aufsehen wecken Festivals wie die Bregenzer Festspiele. Die moderne Architektur erstaunt. Neue Einblicke öffnen Museen. Zauberhaft zeigt sich die Natur am Bodensee und auf den Aussichtsbergen.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich