Webcams Snow Report Weather Forecast Avalanche Report Current Information
James Turrell in Lech (c) Maria Muxel

Heaven on earth

James Turrell and his skyspace in Lech

Enjoyment of nature
in Vorarlberg

Lech Zürs am Arlberg

Skyspace of James Turrell

It was during a hike around Lech am Arlberg that the worldfamous artist James Turrell was so taken by the mountains that one of his Skyspaces is now being realised precisely here – a space in which light is experienced anew

TEXT: THOMAS ZWICKER


The air up here is crystal clear and wonderfully fresh. A salutary tranquillity reigns above the Tannegg hill, a small, almost perfectly formed cone at an altitude of 1,780 metres above sea level, close to the Schlosskopf cable car high above Lech am Arlberg. All around, a powerful mountain landscape, with the Biberkopf, Karhorn, Mohnenfluh and Omeshorn towering heavenwards. In its isolation, the Tannegg appears rather as if it has been left behind in time, an energy location with an enchanting view where the hiker stops to pause for a moment. And which is set to soon act as the stage for one of the great works of art of our time.

Skyspace Lech, „ The color inside “ University of Texas, Austin, 2012 © James Turrell Foto: Holzherr

Artist on the mountain: James Turrell at the location Tannegg close to Lech am Arlberg. His Skyspaces play with space and light.

Little light reaches here from the village, making it the perfect place for installing a Skyspace

says Ludwig Muxel, Mayor of Lech

He explains and points and shapes the planned project with his hands in such an enthusiastic, impassioned way that the work of art almost becomes visible. The tranquillity of the place, the contrast with the frequently turbulent hustle and bustle of the holiday season in Lech – both in summer and winter – are of major importance to Ludwig Muxel. “Culture is very, very important to us,” says the mayor. “Not only for the guests, but for us locals too.”

The large-scale “iron men” by Antony Gormley
were only the beginning

Culture in the lovely natural countryside around Lech Zürs am Arlberg has had its place for quite some time now. It was in 2010 that the Kunsthaus Bregenz realised a massive landscape installation known as “Horizon Field” with Antony Gormley, one of the most significant contemporary sculptors in Great Britain. Exactly 100 life-size iron figures were erected over an area of 150 square kilometres in the Lechquellengebiet of Vorarlberg, each at an altitude of 2,039 metres. They were complemented by maps of the locations, project descriptions, recommended hikes, talks and workshops. An art project in public space which, it may be said, caused an international sensation.

Antony Gormley, Lech, Kriegerhorn (c) Foto Markus Tretter, Kunsthaus Bregenz, Antony Gormley
Skyspace Piz Uter, Zuoz ©James Turrell, Courtesy: Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich Foto: Holzherr

Rotunda: the “Piz Utor” Skyspace in Zuoz, Switzerland
Vista: sculpture from Horizon Field, the preceding project

Gormley’s idea of integrating culture in nature was enthusiastically received – thousands of hikers and skiers came to admire the iron men in the mountains. According to their creator, the figures represent a “deep association between the social and the geological space, between landscape and memory.” Horizon Field, the art association established in Vorarlberg, logically set itself the objective of continuing the project originally intended to endin 2012 and to leave the 100 alpine sculptures as permanent installations. This plan failed, and almost all of the 640-kilogram heavyweights were taken down, and only one final iron man is still standing watch above the Kriegeralpe.

Since the locals of Vorarlberg are not known for their whining, but rather for their positive thinking and getting on with things, the association soon decided to launch a follow-up project with another internationally renowned artist. Working in cooperation with the local gallery owner Wolfgang Häusler (from Galerie Häusler Contemporary), the American light artist James Turrell was gained for the Skyspace venture in Lech. Under the management of doers such as Otto Huber (chairman) and Artur Vonblon (finances), the Horizon Field association came to an agreement with the landowners, obtained approvals, and worked on the finances. The Skyspace Lech project started to take shape.

Skyspace Lech, Arlberg,, James Turrell (c) Maria Muxel

James Turrell´s Skyspaces play with space and light

We often look to the sky and think to ourselves how far away it is. Yet my Skyspaces lower the sky to the level of the ceiling of the room you find yourself in.

James Turrell
Foto David Heald © James Turrell Courtesy Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich
Foto David Heald © James Turrell Courtesy Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich

Light painting: interplay of colours of the “Aten Reign” work in the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York

James Turrell isn’t an unknown in Vorarlberg: he illuminated the opening exhibition of the Kunsthaus Bregenz with his light installation in the façade back in 1997. It was at the invitation of the Horizon Field association that Turrell came to the mountains of Vorarlberg in September 2014, taking a hike to search for a suitable place for one of his Skyspaces, including to the Tannegg via Oberlech. The strapping man with a snow-white beard and bushy eyebrows was fascinated by this mountain landscape from the word go, soon acknowledging the Tannegg as a place excellently suited for a very special Skyspace. The artist quickly produced the first sketches for the project which is now being realised by the renowned Baumschlager-Eberle firm of architects with the objective of connecting landscape, nature and culture.

Sksyspace, James Turrel, 1st Sketch, Skizze © James Turrell, Konzept skyspaceLech

The precise dimensions: the Skyspace in Lech in a sketch by Turrell

The Skyspaces by James Turrell are specially proportioned spaces into which the light falls via an opening in the ceiling. Some of them are integrated in existing buildings, some of them have been erected separately. “We often look to the sky and think to ourselves how far away it is. Yet my Skyspaces lower the sky to the level of the ceiling of the room you find yourself in,” according to the American. “Roden Crater”, the most spectacular of his projects to date, is a massive, dormant volcano close to Flagstaff in Arizona which Turrell has been turning into a gigantic light art project since 1974, in the form of shafts and tunnels cut into the volcano including openings directed towards the sky. There are currently 60 smaller Skyspace objects all over the world, and the work of art in Lech am Arlberg will fit in to the features of the village in the Alps.

Turrell’s plan intends on installing the work of art mainly underground, inside the peak. A tunnel 15 metres in length provides access to the oval-shaped main room which measures 6 x 9 metres, is 5.20 metres high and has space for approx. 30 visitors. The oval opening in the ceiling has a cupola which can be moved and, depending on the weather and the incidence of light, provides various perceptual effects. Phenomenal impressions are anticipated particularly at dusk. Additionally, three light installations generate variable colour moods.

What interests me is the effect of the light on you and your sense of perception

James Turrell
James Turrell in Lech (Sept. 2014) Foto: Maria Muxel

James Turrell in Lech am Arlberg

The Skyspace Lech will be hardly recognisable from the outside: great care is taken to perfectly integrate it in the surrounding nature. As a room of silence, as a space for slowing down and relaxing – it is already appreciated as these things. “What interests me is the effect of the light on you and your sense of perception,” the artist once said in an interview, adding, “you are flying through something that is almost fluid, the air turns into material, a brilliant, intensively glowing material.” If everything goes according to plan, locals and holiday-makers alike will be able to experience this mystical sensation in Lech before the end of 2017, following inauguration of the work of art.

Play
Ludwig Muxel, Otto Huber and Artur Vonblon talking about the project

More information

The region

Lech Zürs am Arlberg

Guests from around the world value the unrivalled quality found only here in the birthplace of skiing. Lech Zürs am Arlberg is dramatically situated in the heart of Austria’s largest contiguous ski area. Flourishing meadows and exciting trails surround this enthralling, picturesque village in summer.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht Service
James Turrell in Lech (c) Maria Muxel

Himmel auf Erden

James Turrell am Arlberg

Naturerlebnis
in Vorarlberg

Reportage

Skyspace von James Turrell

Der weltberühmte Künstler James Turrell war bei einer Wanderung rund um Lech am Arlberg so von der Bergwelt fasziniert, dass man hier nun einen seiner Skyspaces realisiert – einen Raum, in dem das Licht neu erlebt wird

TEXT: THOMAS ZWICKER


Die Luft ist glasklar hier oben und wunderbar frisch. Eine heilsame Stille liegt über dem Tannegg-Hügel, einem kleinen, beinah perfekt geformten Kegel auf 1.780 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel nahe der Schlosskopfbahn hoch über Lech am Arlberg. Ringsum tut sich eine gewaltige Berglandschaft auf, ragen Biberkopf, Karhorn, Mohnenfluh und Omeshorn ins blaue Firmament. Das Tannegg wirkt in seiner Abgeschiedenheit ein wenig wie aus der Zeit gefallen, ein Kraftort mit bezaubernder Aussicht, an dem Wanderer innehalten. Und der bald Bühne ist für eins der großen Kunstwerke unserer Zeit.

Kultur ist für uns sehr, sehr wichtig“, sagt der Bürgermeister, „und zwar nicht nur für die Gäste, sondern auch für uns Einheimische.“

Ludwig Muxel, Bürgermeister von Lech
Skyspace Lech, „ The color inside “ University of Texas, Austin, 2012 © James Turrell Foto: Holzherr

Künstler am Berg: James Turrell am Standort Tannegg bei Lech am Arlberg; seine Skyspaces spielen mit Raum und Licht

„Es gibt hier wenig Lichteintrag vom Dorf her, somit ist es ein idealer Ort, um einen Skyspace zu installieren“, sagt Ludwig Muxel, Bürgermeister von Lech, und er erklärt und zeigt und formt mit seinen Händen so enthusiastisch und mit so viel Liebe das geplante Projekt, dass das Kunstwerk beinahe schon sichtbar wird. Die Ruhe des Ortes, der Kontrast zum oft auch turbulenten Urlauberleben sommers wie winters in Lech sind für Ludwig Muxel von großer Bedeutung. „Kultur ist für uns sehr, sehr wichtig“, sagt der Bürgermeister, „und zwar nicht nur für die Gäste, sondern auch für uns Einheimische.“

Am Anfang standen die großen
„Eisenmänner“ von Antony Gormley

Kultur hat im wunderschönen Naturraum rund um Lech Zürs am Arlberg seit geraumer Zeit ihren Platz. Anno 2010 realisierte das Kunsthaus Bregenz mit Antony Gormley, einem der wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Bildhauer Großbritanniens, unter dem Namen „Horizon Field“ eine gewaltige Landschaftsinstallation. Genau 100 lebensgroße Eisenfiguren wurden auf einer Fläche von 150 Quadratkilometern in jeweils 2.039 Meter Höhe im Vorarlberger Lechquellengebiet aufgestellt, dazu gab es Landkarten der Standorte, Projektbeschreibungen, Wandervorschläge, Vorträge und Workshops. Ein Kunstprojekt im öffentlichen Raum, das international Aufsehen erregte.

Antony Gormley, Lech, Kriegerhorn (c) Foto Markus Tretter, Kunsthaus Bregenz, Antony Gormley
Skyspace Piz Uter, Zuoz ©James Turrell, Courtesy: Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich Foto: Holzherr

Rundbau: der Skyspace „Piz Utor“ in Zuoz, Schweiz
Weitblick: Skulptur des Vorgängerprojekts Horizon Field von Antony Gormley

Gormleys Anliegen, Kultur in die Natur zu integrieren, wurde von den Menschen begeistert aufgenommen – Tausende Wanderer und Skiläufer kamen, um die Eisenmänner im Hochgebirge zu bewundern. Die Figuren sollten eine „tiefe Verbundenheit zwischen dem sozialen und geologischen Raum, zwischen Landschaft und Erinnerung“ darstellen, so ihr Schöpfer. Der in Vorarlberg gegründete Kunstverein Horizon Field setzte sich folgerichtig zum Ziel, das ursprünglich bis 2012 angelegte Projekt fortzuführen und die 100 alpinen Skulpturen dauerhaft zu erhalten. Dieses Vorhaben scheiterte, und fast alle 640-Kilo-Schwergewichte wurden abmontiert, lediglich ein letzter Eisenmann blieb oberhalb der Kriegeralpe bis heute stehen.

Da man in Vorarlberg ungern jammert, sondern lieber positiv denkt und anpackt, beschloss der Verein bald, ein Folgeprojekt mit einem anderen international renommierten Künstler zu starten. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem heimischen Galeristen Wolfgang Häusler (Galerie Häusler Contemporary) wurde der amerikanische Lichtkünstler James Turrell für das Unternehmen Skyspace in Lech gewonnen. Unter Leitung von Machern wie Otto Huber (Obmann) und Artur Vonblon (Finanzen) einigte sich der Verein Horizon Field mit den Grundeigentümern, holte Genehmigungen ein, arbeitete an der Finanzierung. Das Projekt Skyspace Lech nahm Formen an.

Skyspace Lech, Arlberg,, James Turrell (c) Maria Muxel

Die Skyspaces des James Turrell sind speziell proportionierte Räume, in die durch eine Öffnung in der Decke das Licht einfällt

„Oft schauen wir zum Himmel und denken, dass er so weit weg ist. Aber meine Skyspaces bringen den Himmel herunter an die Decke des Raumes, in dem man sich befindet.“

James Turrell
Foto David Heald © James Turrell Courtesy Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich
Foto David Heald © James Turrell Courtesy Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich

Licht-Malerei: Farbspiele der Arbeit „Aten Reign“ im Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York

James Turrell ist in Vorarlberg kein Unbekannter, schon 1997 hatte er die Eröffnungsausstellung des Kunsthaus Bregenz mit seiner Lichtinstallation in der Außenfassade illuminiert. Auf Einladung des Vereins Horizon Field kam Turrell im September 2014 in die Vorarlberger Bergwelt und wanderte auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Ort für einen seiner Skyspaces auch über Oberlech zum Tannegg. Auf Anhieb war der stattliche Mann mit schlohweißem Vollbart und buschigen Augenbrauen von dieser Gebirgslandschaft fasziniert, erkannte das Tannegg bald darauf als hervorragend geeigneten Ort für einen ganz besonderen Skyspace. Schnell erstellte der Künstler erste Skizzen für das Projekt, das nun vom renommierten heimischen Architektenbüro Baumschlager-Eberle umgesetzt wird mit dem Ziel, Landschaft, Natur und Kultur in Verbindung zu bringen.

Sksyspace, James Turrel, 1st Sketch, Skizze © James Turrell, Konzept skyspaceLech

„Lech Skyspace 1st Sketch“, Skizze: James Turrell

Die Skyspaces des James Turrell sind speziell proportionierte Räume, in die durch eine Öffnung in der Decke das Licht einfällt – teils in bestehende Bauten integriert, teils eigens errichtet. „Oft schauen wir zum Himmel und denken, dass er so weit weg ist. Aber meine Skyspaces bringen den Himmel herunter an die Decke eines Raums, in dem man sich befindet“, sagt der Amerikaner. Sein spektakulärstes Projekt „Roden Crater“ ist ein riesiger erloschener Vulkan bei Flagstaff in Arizona, den Turrell seit 1974 mit hineingefrästen Stollen und Tunneln samt zum Himmel gerichteten Öffnungen, Skyspaces, in ein gigantisches Lichtkunstprojekt verwandelt. Mehr als 60 kleinere Skyspace-Objekte gibt es heute in aller Welt – und auch das Werk in Lech am Arlberg soll zu dem Ort in den Alpen passen.

James Turrell hat bis heute rund
60 verschiedene Skyspace-Projekte
in der ganzen Welt realisiert

Turrells Planung sieht vor, das Objekt weitgehend unterirdisch im Inneren des Bergkegels anzulegen. Ein 15 Meter langer Tunnel gewährt Zugang zum ovalen Hauptraum, der sechs mal neun Meter misst, 5,20 Meter hoch ist und Platz für ca. 30 Besucher bietet. Die ovale Öffnung in der Decke ist mit einer Kuppel versehen, die bewegt werden kann und je nach Wetter und Lichteinfall für unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungseffekte sorgt, besonders bei Dämmerung sind phänomenal Eindrücke zu erwarten. Drei Lichtinstallationen erzeugen zudem variable Farbstimmungen.

Was mich interessiert, ist die Wirkung des Lichts auf dich und deine Wahrnehmung ...

Künstler James Turrell
James Turrell in Lech (Sept. 2014) Foto: Maria Muxel

James Turrell in Lech am Arlberg

Von außen wird der Skyspace Lech kaum zu erkennen sein, mit großer Achtsamkeit perfekt integriert in die Natur. Als Schweigeraum, als Platz zur Entschleunigung und Erholung wird er schon heute begrüßt. „Was mich interessiert, ist die Wirkung des Lichts auf dich und deine Wahrnehmung“, hat der Künstler einmal in einem Interview dazu gesagt, und: „Man fliegt durch etwas fast Flüssiges hindurch, die Luft wird zum Material, einem wunderbar intensiv leuchtenden Material.“

Einheimische und Urlauber können dieses mystische Gefühl in Lech ab dem 17. September 2018 nach Eröffnung des Kunstwerks erleben.

James Turrell in Lech (Sept. 2014) Foto: Maria Muxel
Play
Ludwig Muxel, Otto Huber und Artur Vonblon erzählen über das Kunstwerk
Die Region

Lech Zürs am Arlberg

Wo das Skifahren seinen Ursprung hat, kann man sich auf beste Qualität verlassen. Gäste aus aller Welt schätzen Lech Zürs am Arlberg, mitten im größten zusammenhängenden Skigebiet Österreichs gelegen. Im Sommer beeindruckt das malerische Dorf mit blühenden Wiesen und anregenden Wegen.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich