Webcams Snow Report Weather Forecast Avalanche Report Current Information
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH

The smell of fresh bread

Pauline Burtscher is a baker out of passion

Paulinarium
Vorarlberg Magazine

Brandnertal · Alpenstadt Bludenz · Klostertal · Großes Walsertal

Paulinarium

High above Ludesch, on the “Terrace of Walgau”, stands the 360-year-old Walserhaus that is owned by Pauline Burtscher and her husband Reinhard. This is the place where she kneads and shapes bread – and she’ll teach the traditional craft to anyone who wants to learn it.

TEXT: ANNE SCHÜSSLER

The fire in the oven crackles quietly. The wood hisses and snaps, the embers glow red and orange. Grey smoke streams from the chimney into the white snow-covered winter landscape. The warmth and smell of freshly baked bread hit Pauline as she opens the oven’s cast-iron door. “Nothing is as good as this smell,” the passionate baker says. “My mother always baked bread. And the memories never left me.” She and her husband bought the old, enchanted house built from timber in the Walser style along with the stables on the Ludescherberg in 2001. The building’s dark wooden door with wrought-iron handle and old-fashioned bell that visitors must ring instead of an electric one makes it look a little like a little witch’s cottage. “Yes, I’m a big fan of fairy tales,” says Pauline laughing. She particularly likes the figure of Mother Hulda.

Paulinarium Pauline Burtscher © Anne Schuessler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH

A passionate baker: Pauline Burtscher shares her knowledge in courses

Pauline only bakes with good ingredients. She sources her flour from farmers in the region – and she’s acquainted with most of them.

There’s a girl in that fairy tale who has an encounter with a bread oven from which she hears the loaves shouting: “Oh, get me out, get me out, otherwise I’ll burn! I was ready ages ago!” Pauline was so taken with these lines that she had a wood-burning oven built in her garden. She regularly bakes her bread creations in it. “I never have a recipe,” she says, “a little bit of this and a little bit that – it’ll be all right.” She only weighs the ingredients for visitors who take her bread-baking courses so that they can recreate the same breads at home. The trained cook sources her grain from local farmers. She doesn’t have a favourite type of flour. “I use all kinds: spelt, wheat, rye, barley, oats and even buckwheat – the main thing is that it has to be very high quality. I prefer it when I know the farmer personally.”

Good bread takes time.

Pauline Burtscher
Play
Pauline about her philosophy // Video: Fux & Hase; Music: Philipp Lingg

Link video / integrate into website

Her most important rule for baking? “Good bread takes time.” People never had much in the past so they baked lots of bread with just a little bit of yeast. That worked because they gave the dough time. “Today people use a lot of yeast to make the dough rise faster. But it also means that the bread will spoil faster.” It’s precisely this philosophy of bread-baking that Pauline tries to convey to the people attending her courses. But it’s not always about bread. If they’re interested, Pauline’s friends will also show visitors how to weave baskets or take them out on walks to discover the world of herbs.

Paulinarium Brotlaibe © Anne Schuessler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH

Giving the dough time: The loaves of bread are allowed to rise in round fermentation baskets before they are put into the oven

Joining in: Pauline’s courses usually fill up quickly; she also arranges additional dates for groups

Baking bread isn’t just about kneading. You can also enjoy the peace and quiet.

She holds her courses in the old stables, which today have been converted into a place where she can teach: the Paulinarium. It was extensively renovated and glazed on the interior to preserve the original look. “I definitely wanted to reintegrate the old wood,” says Pauline, “old buildings have a soul. Preserving the old is the real art,” she believes. “Anybody can do new.”

Old buildings have a soul. Preserving them is the real art.

Pauline Burtscher
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH
Paulinarium Ludescherberg © Anne Schuessler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

The stable was extensively renovated and glazed on the interior to preserve the original look.

Pauline’s courses are not only about baking bread, not even when she’s kneading dough. She also wants visitors to feel at ease up here. “I want them to forget the stress of their everyday lives and focus entirely on shaping and kneading,” says Pauline. She simply loves what she’s doing: “I’ve only very rarely bought any bread over the last 17 years.”

Cooking und baking in Vorarlberg

Further informations

The region

Alpenregion Bludenz

Brandnertal, Alpenstadt Bludenz, Klostertal, Grosses Walsertal. Valleys branch out in the shape of a star from the centre of Alpenstadt Bludenz: the Brandnertal, the Klostertal and the Grosses Walsertal Biosphere Park. In both summer and winter, entertaining and informative offers and programmes inspire families to spend time together in the great outdoors.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH

Der Duft von frischem Brot

Pauline Burtscher ist Bäckerin aus Leidenschaft

Paulinarium
Vorarlberg Magazin

Brandnertal · Alpenstadt Bludenz · Klostertal · Großes Walsertal

Paulinarium

Hoch über Ludesch, am „Balkon vom Walgau“, steht das 360 Jahre alte Walserhaus von Pauline Burtscher und ihrem Mann Reinhard. Hier knetet und formt sie Brote – und wer will, kann das traditionelle Handwerk bei ihr erlernen

TEXT: ANNE SCHÜSSLER

Leise knistert das Feuer im Ofen. Das Holz knackt und zischt, die Glut funkelt rot-orange. Aus dem Kamin strömt grauer Rauch in die weiß verschneite Winterlandschaft. Wenn Pauline die gusseiserne Ofentür öffnet, schlagen ihr die Wärme und der Geruch nach frisch gebackenem Brot entgegen. „Dieser Duft ist mit nichts aufzuwiegen“, sagt die leidenschaftliche Bäckerin. „Schon meine Mutter hat immer welches gebacken. Das hat mich nie wieder losgelassen.“ 2001 kaufte sie zusammen mit ihrem Mann das alte, verwunschene Holzhaus im Walser Stil samt Stall am Ludescherberg. Mit seiner dunklen Holztür mit schmiedeeisernem Griff und Glocke statt Klingel erinnert das Gebäude den Besucher ein bisschen an ein Hexenhäuschen. „Ja, ich bin ein großer Märchen-Fan“, lacht Pauline. Vor allem Frau Holle hat es ihr angetan.

Paulinarium Pauline Burtscher © Anne Schuessler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH

Bäckerin aus Leidenschaft: Pauline Burtscher gibt in Seminaren ihr Wissen weiter

Pauline backt nur mit guten Zutaten. Ihr Mehl bekommt sie von Bauern aus der Region – die meisten kennt sie

In dem Märchen trifft ein Mädchen auf einen Brotbackofen, aus dem die Brote rufen: „Ach, zieh mich raus, zieh mich raus, sonst verbrenn ich: Ich bin schon längst ausgebacken.“ Diese Zeilen haben es Pauline so sehr angetan, dass sie sich selbst einen Holzbackofen in ihrem Garten bauen ließ. Regelmäßig backt sie darin  ihre Brotkreationen. „Ich habe nie ein Rezept“, sagt sie, „von hier ein bisschen und von dort ein bisschen – das passt schon.“ Nur für die Gäste ihrer Brotbackkurse wiegt Pauline ihre Zutaten ab, damit sie es zu Hause nachmachen können. Ihr Getreide bekommt die gelernte Köchin von Bauern aus der Region. Ein Lieblingsmehl hat sie nicht. „Ich backe mit allem: Dinkel, Weizen, Roggen, Gerste, Hafer und auch Buchweizen – Hauptsache ist, dass es eine sehr gute Qualität hat. Am liebsten ist es mir, wenn ich den Bauern kenne.“

Gutes Brot will Weile haben.

Pauline Burtscher
Play
Pauline über ihre Philosophie // Video: Fux & Hase; Musik: Philipp Lingg

Video verlinken / einbinden

Ihre wichtigste Backregel? „Gutes Brot will Weile haben.“ Früher hatten die Menschen nicht viel, deshalb backten sie mit wenig Hefe viel Brot. Das ging, weil sie dem Teig Zeit ließen. „Heute setzen die Leute viel Hefe ein, damit der Teig schneller geht. Dadurch verdirbt das Brot aber auch schneller.“ Genau diese Philosophie vom Brotbacken versucht Pauline ihren Gästen zu vermitteln. Es dreht sich bei ihr aber auch nicht immer um Brot: Interessierte können auch unter Anleitung von Freunden von Pauline Körbe flechten oder eine Kräuterwanderung machen.

Paulinarium Brotlaibe © Anne Schuessler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH

Dem Teig Zeit lassen: In runden Gärkörbchen ruhen die Brotlaibe, bevor sie in den Ofen kommen

Dabei sein: Paulines Kurse sind schnell ausgebucht; für Gruppen macht sie auch Extratermine

Beim Brotbacken geht es nicht nur ums Kneten: Man kann dabei auch die Ruhe und Stille genießen

Die Seminare gibt sie im ehemaligen Stall, der heute ein Seminarhaus ist, das Paulinarium. Der wurde aufwendig renoviert und innen verglast, sodass das ursprüngliche Erscheinungsbild erhalten werden konnte. „Ich wollte das alte Holz auf jeden Fall wieder integrieren“, erzählt Pauline, „alte Gebäude haben eine Seele. Das Alte zu erhalten, das ist die eigentliche Kunst“, glaubt sie. „Etwas Neues kann jeder machen.“

Alte Gebäude haben eine Seele. Diese zu erhalten, das ist die eigentliche Kunst.

Pauline Burtscher
Paulinarium - Brotbacken am Ludescherberg © Markus Gmeiner / Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH
Paulinarium Ludescherberg © Anne Schuessler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Die alten Balken des Stalls wurden beim Umbau erhalten und mit Glaselementen kombiniert, damit der Charme erhalten bleibt

In Paulines Kursen geht es nicht nur ums Brotbacken, auch dann nicht, wenn sie Teig knetet. Hier oben möchte sie ihren Gästen auch die Ruhe wieder näherbringen. „Die Leute sollen bei mir ihren Stress vergessen und sich ganz dem Formen und Kneten hingeben“, meint Pauline. Sie selbst liebt es: „Seit 17 Jahren habe ich nur noch ganz selten Brot gekauft.“

Kochen und backen in Vorarlberg

Weitere Informationen

Die Region

Alpenregion Vorarlberg

Brandnertal, Alpenstadt Bludenz, Klostertal, Großes Walsertal. Im Zentrum die Alpenstadt Bludenz, sternförmig öffnen sich die Täler: das Brandnertal, das Klostertal und der Biosphärenpark Großes Walsertal. Unterhaltsam-informativ gestaltete Angebote und Programme regen im Sommer und Winter vor allem Familien dazu an, in der Natur eine gemeinsame Zeit zu erleben.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich