Webcams Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service Wetter/Verkehr
Birdwatching Rheinspitz Johanna Kronberger-20 © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Biologist Johanna Kronberger

Birdwatching in the Rheindelta

As a biologist who specialises in birds, she regularly travels around Lake Constance and spends lots of time in the Rhine delta. She takes people out on birdwatching tours.

It’s a quiet winter’s morning at Lake Constance. Frost covers the banks and a thin layer of ice rests on the trees. Several black coots swim by. This is her world: the biologist and ornithologist Johanna Kronberger is standing on the shore wrapped up in her winter gear and is looking through her binoculars. “It’s possible to see many different species of bird at close range here in this European nature reserve that is the Rhine delta,” she says.

Birdwatching Rheinspitz Johanna Kronberger-33 © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Birdwatching Rheinspitz Johanna Kronberger-8 © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

It’s possible to see many different species of bird at close range here in this European nature reserve that is the Rhine delta.

More than 300 different species of bird breed and spend their winters in the Rhine delta. “With a little luck, you can even see Bewick’s swans here in winter as well as different species of duck,” Johanna says. She’s regularly been taking interested visitors out on guided tours for the last three years. It’s possible to book the tours either directly through her or through the Hotel am See. “Out here, in nature, it’s all about the animals. I’m able to forget everything else for a few hours. It’s what I love about my job.”

You can see different birds in the Rhine delta every day – and simply switch off and listen to the sounds of nature at the same time

Johanna Kronberger
Play
Video portrait of nature guide Lukas Rinnhofer, a colleague of Johanna // Video: Fux & Hase; Music: Philipp Lingg

Link video / integrate into website

Informations and link tips

The region

Bodensee-Vorarlberg

The lively small cities of Bregenz, Dornbirn, Hohenems and Feldkirch boast a vibrant atmosphere. Festivals such as the Bregenz Festival attract international attention, there’s amazing modern architecture and museums open up new perspectives. The natural spectacle of the mountains is reflected in the waters of Lake Constance and can be enjoyed from on high.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service
Birdwatching Rheinspitz Johanna Kronberger-20 © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Biologin und Ornithologin Johanna Kronberger

Vogelbeobachtung im Rheindelta

Als Biologin mit Schwerpunkt Vögel ist sie regelmäßig rund um den Bodensee unterwegs, vor allem im Rheindelta. Sie bietet Bird-Watching-Touren an.

Es ist ein ruhiger Wintermorgen am Bodensee. Frost bedeckt die Ufer, und auf den Bäumen liegt eine dünne Eisschicht. An uns schwimmen ein paar schwarze Blesshühner vorbei. Das ist ihre Welt: Dick angezogen steht die Biologin und Ornithologin Johanna Kronberger am Ufer und schaut durch ihr Fernglas. „Hier im Europaschutzgebiet Rheindelta lassen sich zahlreiche Vogelarten aus nächster Nähe beobachten“, erzählt sie.

Birdwatching Rheinspitz Johanna Kronberger-33 © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Birdwatching Rheinspitz Johanna Kronberger-8 © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Hier im Europaschutzgebiet Rheindelta lassen sich zahlreiche Vogelarten aus nächster Nähe beobachten

Das Rheindelta bietet Brut- und Überwinterungsplätze für über 300 verschiedene Vogelarten. „Jetzt im Winter kann man mit viel Glück Zwergschwäne und verschiedene Arten von Tauchenten sehen“, erklärt Johanna. Seit etwa drei Jahren bietet sie regelmäßig geführte Touren für Interessierte an, die man entweder bei ihr direkt oder über das Hotel am See buchen kann. „Hier draußen in der Natur geht es nur um die Tiere. Für ein paar Stunden vergesse ich alles andere. Das liebe ich an meinem Beruf.“

Im Rheindelta kann man jeden Tag andere Vögel beobachten – und gleichzeitig einfach mal abschalten, den Geräuschen der Natur lauschen.

Johanna Kronberger
Play
Unterwegs mit Naturführer Lukas Rinnhofer, einem Kollegen von Johanna // Video: Fux & Hase; Musik: Philipp Lingg

Video verlinken/einbetten/teilen

Informationen/Linktipps:

Weiterlesen

Die Region

Bodensee-Vorarlberg

Beschwingt ist das Lebensgefühl in den lebendigen Kleinstädten Bregenz, Dornbirn, Hohenems und Feldkirch. Internationales Aufsehen wecken Festivals wie die Bregenzer Festspiele. Die moderne Architektur erstaunt. Neue Einblicke öffnen Museen. Zauberhaft zeigt sich die Natur am Bodensee und auf den Aussichtsbergen.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich