Webcams Snow Report Weather Forecast Avalanche Report Current Information
Weltcup Montafon Bergbahn Silvretta Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

A valley gets to work

Weltcup Montafon
Vorarlberg Magazine

Montafon

Weltcup Montafon

The world’s top-ranking ski-cross and snowboard-cross athletes meet in the Silvretta Montafon ski resort to test themselves against each other every year in December.It’s a huge sports event that takes place in Schruns and on the slopes – one that would not be possible without the help of the many volunteers. We took a look behind the scenes.

TEXT: FABIAN TEUBER

Skiers… ready? – Attention!” The flaps on the starting block drop with a bang, the first four opponents throw themselves into the halfpipe, which is a good three metres deep, whiz out at the other end again and head towards the first sharp bend. There’s a difference in altitude of around 200 metres from the start, which lies a little below the Hochjoch summit, to the finish, which is located near the cable car’s mountain station.

The winter sports professionals race down the 985-metre-long World Cup track at speeds of up to 65 kilometres per hour – the rapid descent takes barely 60 seconds. The atmosphere at the finishing line is like that at football stadiums: the excited spectators watch the race on a large screen and flags are waved in the filled-to-capacity grandstand. The noise from the vuvuzelas almost drowns out the party hits blasting from the loudspeakers.

Weltcup Montafon Rennleiter Christoph Arndt © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon Zieleinlauf © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Christoph Arndt keeps an eye on everything from his position next to the starting box

The ski-cross and snowboard-cross track is similar to the ones seen at BMX events – only it’s made of snow. A total of 80,000 cubic metres of snow is needed to create the venue’s 32 elements: a halfpipe, five sharp bends, various jumps and bumps. The rough preparatory work for the Double World Cup on the mountain is handled by a specially designed digger – but most of it still needs to be done by hand: the ‘shapers’ use all kinds of standard gardening tools to get the snow into shape. A good five kilometres of safety nets and barrier nets are installed around the track in addition to the kilometres of cables needed for timekeeping and, of course, for the television cameras.

The events in both disciplines are held over three days. The preparations take months and the serious work commences a good two weeks before the weekend of the event. The World Cup is organised in perfect cooperation by Montafon Tourism, Silvretta Montafon and the ski clubs in the valley. The volunteer fire brigade and the Red Cross also get involved as do 13 clubs and three schools. Many helpers take leave from their work and some even travel from far afield to help at the event. Everybody feels privileged that they can join in. Why, you’d ask yourself, do they do it? The answer is: some of the best winter sports personalities in the world are from the Montafon. Some of them have even competed in the Olympics and have represented the valley across the world. And they’re also often club mates. That’s why they want the competitors to enjoy the best possible conditions at their home derby.

Many helpers take leave from their work and some even travel from far afield to help at the event.

The first 40 helpers drive up the mountain in the dark at the beginning of each race day to bring the course back up to competition standards. The cable car doesn’t actually run that early, it’s only been put into operation for the hard core. Most of those standing crowded together in the car look tired because they already climbed out of bed at four in the morning the day before – and only got back down to the valley at seven in the evening. The mood remains buoyant in spite of the occasional suppressed yawn.

Weltcup Montafon Pistenpraeparierung © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

The slope is groomedvery early in the morning. The route markings are the last things to be put in place

One year’s work, 700 hands – but it also all depends on the weather

Upstairs, in the cosy and warm green room, the first thing to do is get a bread roll. A total of 250 are consumed every day – in addition to all the fruit, cereal bars and mini-salamis. The coffee machine hums almost continuously. A queue quickly forms in front of Dorle Hübler: She’s responsible for handing out the variously coloured bibs. “Slipper, track or gate judge?”, she asks. The ‘slippers’ ski in single file down the track before and between the heats sliding at offsets through the sharp bends to scrape the loose snow off the course and level it out. The gate judges and track marshals spread out across the track, somewhere between start and finish, to keep an eye out for any violations; but they’re also quickly to hand if any of the competitors suffer a fall.

  • The cross competitors also compete at the Olympics
    Ski cross has been an Olympic discipline since 2010, snowboard cross since 2006, so they are quite young sports but they’re growing rapidly in popularity. Four competitors face off on a course with halfpipes, ski jumps and sharp bends during several heats of the knock-out competition in which the two fastest athletes advance to the next round. More than 200 competitors from 27 nations have registered to take part in both disciplines at the World Cup in the Montafon.

Weltcup Montafon Eva-Maria Speckle © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Behind the scenes: Eva-Maria Speckle records the results of the heats at the finishing line

They keep in touch with the race directors by radio. And then there are the ‘dyers’. They spray blue markings along the edge of the track and on the obstacles on the snow. That’s when they don their white painter’s suits, which are already speckled blue from the previous days’ work. Snowmobiles are waiting outside to tow the skiers up to the starting line. In the beam of the headlamps, the course is now ‘slipped’, sharp bend after sharp bend. The track is ready for the first training runs at half past seven and the competitors have started to get ready on the terraced slope behind the so-called starting box. That’s where the boards are waxed and the final preparations are made. Race Director Christoph Arndt has already taken up position in the starting area.

We’re all winter sports enthusiasts here.

He can see along the entire route from here. He’s one of the first on the mountain in the morning and pretty much the last to return. Three radios dangle from his neck, plus a ‘man in the ear’ – and should there be radio silence for once, his mobile phone is bound to start ringing immediately. The job is stressful but it doesn‘t seem to be bothering the 47-year old… on the contrary, he actually seems to be really enjoying himself. At times, he has to raise his voice but somehow he manages to maintain his good spirits. Like him, all the people here are ‘winter sports enthusiasts’ and ‘glass-half-full types’ who are not discouraged by adverse weather conditions, he says.

Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Always ready: Well wrapped up, the many slippers are waiting for their cue. Slippers are the people for smoothing out the track between races

The people of the Montafon expect 8,000 spectators to attend the grand closing ceremony

The weather is one of those things: sure, there would be no winter sports without snow but there mustn’t be too much of the stuff either. The night before last, for example, the wind had knocked down the fences across large sections of the track and fresh snow had fallen on it, so the helpers were out and about on the mountain from four in the morning. But their combined efforts resulted in everything being returned to perfect order again on schedule. But then it snowed like mad and a fog came up – the qualification heats planned for the day had to be postponed in spite all the workers’ efforts.

At 1,500 metres lower down, a veritable festival area with open-air stage, marquee and snack stands is being created on the parking lot at the Hochjoch-Bahn valley station in Schruns. Mando Diao, the rock group from Sweden, is performing on the Saturday evening and DJs in the marquee are getting the crowd in the party mood. But the fact that 8,000 people will be turning up here for the closing party and that the main street will have been transformed into a colourful party venue is really not apparent on the Friday morning. But people don’t appear to be stressed, which is probably due to the laid-back character of the Montafon residents. The tent is already up and the stage is gradually taking shape.

The people in the valley stick together. Often whole families join in.

The World Cup also marks the start of the winter season for the hospitality sector. Ewald Tschanhenz, for example, is a hotelier in nearby St. Gallenkirch; he’s opened a few days earlier than planned in order to put up four national snowboard teams at short notice. The enthusiastic hotelier was also the village’s mayor for several years. He thinks that the World Cup’s success and the fact that the entire region has become associated with it is mainly due to just one thing: the close solidarity that exists between the Montafon residents. It’s not unusual, for instance, for entire families to get involved as helpers; one good example is Eva-Maria Speckle’s family. The 27-year-old marks down the results of the heats and the next pairings on a board while her older brother is the race commentator at the finish; her parents also lend a hand. From the beginning, and again every year.

After 24 heats, the final results are in and the names of the competitors who will have the honour of climbing the winner’s podium are known. Until just a few minutes ago, that podium was hidden somewhere in the background between boxes and is now hurriedly being hoisted over the boards along with the inflatable display wall bearing the sponsors’ logos. The helpers start draping the champagne bottles on the steps. The winners will treat themselves to a hearty slug and commence their celebrations while the Montafon residents can also be proud of themselves – this year’s World Cup has been another great success.

The region

Montafon

Mighty chains of mountains ring the valley in southern Vorarlberg and 11 villages provide everything activity and nature enthusiasts appreciate: scenic hiking and mountain bike trails, as well as fast ski runs and freeriding slopes. All this is coupled with an attractive events programme that will inspire you to join in and try something new.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service
Weltcup Montafon Bergbahn Silvretta Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Ein Tal packt an

Weltcup Montafon
Vorarlberg Magazin

Montafon

Weltcup im Skigebiet Silvretta Montafon

Jedes Jahr im Dezember trifft sich im Skigebiet Silvretta Montafon die Weltspitze der Ski und Snowboard-Crosser zum Kräftemessen. Ein riesiges Sportfest in Schruns und auf den Pisten, das ohne die vielen Freiwilligen gar nicht möglich wäre. Wir haben hinter die Kulissen geschaut

TEXT: FABIAN TEUBER

“Skiers… ready? – Attention!“ Mit einem Knall fallen die Klappen am Startblock, die ersten vier Kontrahenten stürzen sich in die gut drei Meter tiefe Halfpipe, sausen mit Schwung am anderen Ende wieder hinaus und auf die erste Steilkurve zu. Vom Start, der etwas unterhalb des Hochjoch-Gipfels liegt, bis zum Ziel nahe der Bergstation der Gondelbahn sind es rund 200 Höhenmeter.

Mit bis zu 65 Stundenkilometern kurven die Wintersport-Profis über den 985 Meter langen Weltcup-Parcours – kaum 60 Sekunden dauert die rasante Abfahrt. Im Zieleinlauf herrscht eine Stimmung wie in einem Fußballstadion: Gebannt verfolgen die Zuschauer auf einer Großbildleinwand das Renngeschehen, auf der bis auf den letzten Platz gefüllten Zuschauertribühne werden Fahnen geschwenkt. Vuvuzelas ertönen, aus den Lautsprechern dröhnen Partyhits.

Weltcup Montafon Rennleiter Christoph Arndt © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon Zieleinlauf © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Alles im Blick behält Rennleiter Christoph Arndt von seiner Position neben der Startbox

Der Kurs für Skicross und Snowboardcross ähnelt einer BMX-Strecke, nur eben aus Schnee. 80 000 Kubikmeter davon wurden für die 32 Elemente des Parcours verbaut: eine Halfpipe, fünf Steilkurven, diverse Sprünge und Wellen. Die grobe Vorarbeit für den Doppel-Weltcup hat ein eigens dafür auf den Berg geschaffter Bagger geleistet, doch das meiste ist nach wie vor Handarbeit: Mit allerlei handelsüblichem Gartengerät bringen die „Shaper“ den Schnee in Form. Um die Strecke herum wurden gut fünf Kilometer Fang- und Absperrnetze gezogen, dazu kilometerweise Kabel für die Zeitmessung und natürlich die Fernsehkameras.

Drei Tage dauern die Wettkämpfe in beiden Disziplinen. Die Vorbereitungen haben Monate in Anspruch genommen, gut zwei Wochen vor dem Wettkampf-Wochenende beginnt die heiße Phase. Die Organisation des Weltcups ist ein perfektes Zusammenspiel von Montafon Tourismus, Silvretta Montafon und den Skiclubs im Tal. 13 Vereine und 3 Schulen sind zudem eingebunden, natürlich auch die Freiwillige Feuerwehr und das Rote Kreuz. Viele Helfer nehmen Urlaub und reisen auch von weither an, um beim Großevent anzupacken. Alle sind stolz, mitwirken zu können. Warum, fragt man sich, machen die das? Die Antwort lautet: Einige der besten Wintersportler der Welt sind Montafoner. Sie starten bei Olympia, repräsentieren das Tal in der ganzen Welt. Und oft sind es auch Vereinskameraden. Die sollen beim Heimderby dann natürlich die bestmöglichen Bedingungen vorfinden.

Viele Helfer nehmen Urlaub und reisen auch von weither an, um beim Großevent anzupacken.

Noch bei Dunkelheit fahren die ersten 40 Helfer auf den Berg, um den Kurs vor jedem Renntag wieder in wettkampftauglichen Zustand zu bringen. So früh ist die Seilbahn eigentlich noch gar nicht in Betrieb, es ist eine Sonderfahrt für den harten Kern: Die meisten, die jetzt, zusammengedrängt und mit müden Gesichtern, in der Gondel stehen, waren auch am Vortag schon um vier Uhr oben – und erst um 19 Uhr wieder auf dem Weg ins Tal. Hier und da ein unterdrücktes Gähnen, und doch herrscht beste Stimmung.

Weltcup Montafon Pistenpraeparierung © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

In aller Frühe wird die Piste präpariert. Zuletzt wird die Streckenmarkierung aufgetragen

Ein Jahr Arbeit, 700 Hände – doch das Wetter muss auch mitspielen

Oben, im mollig warmen Aufenthaltsraum, gibt es erstmal eine Semmel. Davon gehen täglich 250 weg, dazu jede Menge Obst, Müsliriegel und Mini-Salamis. Fast pausenlos surrt der Kaffeeautomat. Schnell bildet sich eine kleine Schlange bei Dorle Hübler: Sie gibt die verschiedenfarbigen Leibchen aus und fragt: „Rutscher, Strecke oder Torrichter?“ Die „Rutscher“ fahren vor und zwischen den Läufen die Strecke im Gänsemarsch ab, rutschen versetzt durch die Steilkurven und schaben dabei den losen Schnee aus dem Kurs, um diesen zu ebnen. Die Torrichter und Streckenposten verteilen sich am Kurs, irgendwo zwischen Start und Ziel, halten ein waches Auge auf etwaige Regelverstöße und sind bei Stürzen schnell zur Stelle.

  • Die Crosser fahren auch auf Olympia ab
    Skicross ist seit 2010 olympische Disziplin, Snowboardcross schon seit 2006, es sind also recht junge, aber in ihrer Popularität rasant wachsende Sportarten. Im K.O.-System treten pro „Heat“ vier Sportler auf einem Parcours mit Halfpipes, Sprungschanzen und Steilkurven gegeneinander an, die beiden schnellsten kommen in die nächste Runde. Mehr als 200 Athleten aus 27 Nationen haben sich in den beiden Disziplinen für den Weltcup im Montafon registriert.

Weltcup Montafon Eva-Maria Speckle © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Hinter den Kulissen: Eva-Maria Speckle notiert im Zieleinlauf die Ergebnisse der Heats

Per Funk halten sie Kontakt zur Rennleitung. Dann gibt es noch die „Färber“. Sie sprühen blaue Markierungen am Streckenrand und an den Hindernissen auf den Schnee. Sie streifen sich nun ihre weißen Maleranzüge über, die schon blau gesprenkelt sind von den letzten Tagen. Draußen warten die Ski-Mobile, in deren Schlepptau geht es auf Ski hinauf zum Start. Im Schein der Stirnlampen wird nun der Kurs „gerutscht“, Steilkurve für Steilkurve. Um halb acht ist die Strecke bereit für die ersten Trainingsläufe. Am terrassierten Hang hinter der sogenannten Startbox machen sich die Athleten bereit. Dort werden die Bretter gewachst und letzte Vorbereitungen getroffen. Rennleiter Christoph Arndt hat bereits seine Position im Startbereich bezogen.

Wir sind hier alle Wintersport-Begeisterte.

Von hier hat er die gesamte Strecke im Blick. Er ist einer der Ersten morgens auf dem Berg und so ziemlich der Letzte, der wieder hinunterfährt. Drei Funkgeräte baumeln vor seiner Brust, dazu ein „Mann im Ohr“ – und sollte da einmal Funkstille herrschen, klingelt im nächsten Moment ganz sicher das Handy. Der Job ist stressig, aber das scheint dem 47-Jährigen ganz offensichtlich nicht nur nichts auszumachen, sondern einen Riesenspaß zu bringen. Zwischendurch wird der Tonfall zwar durchaus mal etwas rauer, doch irgendwie schafft der Mann es, seine gute Laune zu behalten. Wie er seien hier alle „Wintersport-Begeisterte“, „Glas-halb-voll-Typen“, die sich auch von Widrigkeiten des Wetters nicht entmutigen ließen, meint er.

Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Weltcup Montafon © Gregor Lengler / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Allzeit bereit: Gut einpackt warten die vielen Rutscher auf ihren Einsatz. Sie glätten die Strecke zwischen den Rennen

Zum großen Abschlussfest rechnen die Montafoner mit 8000 Gästen

Mit dem Wetter ist das nämlich so eine Sache: Klar, ohne Schnee kein Wintersport, doch zu viel davon soll es auch nicht sein. In der Nacht zum Vortag etwa hatte der Wind großflächig Zäune umgeweht, Neuschnee bedeckte den Kurs, die Helfer waren ab vier Uhr früh am Berg unterwegs. Mit vereinten Kräften haben sie es geschafft, pünktlich war alles wieder perfekt. Doch dann schneite es wie verrückt, und Nebel zog auf – die für den Tag geplanten Qualifikationsrennen mussten allem Einsatz zum Trotz verschoben werden.

1500 Höhenmeter tiefer entsteht auf dem Parkplatz an der Talstation der Hochjoch-Bahn in Schruns ein veritables Festival-Gelände mit Open-Air-Bühne, Festzelt und Imbissständen. Am Samstagabend spielt die schwedische Rockband Mando Diao, im Festzelt heizen DJs der Menge ein. Doch dass sich zur Abschluss-Sause 8000 Menschen hier tummeln werden, die Hauptstraße in eine bunte Partymeile verwandelt sein wird, lässt sich noch am Freitagvormittag nur erahnen. Von Hektik dennoch keine Spur, es herrscht typisch Montafoner Gelassenheit. Das Zelt steht schon, auch die Bühne nimmt allmählich Gestalt an.

Die Leute im Tal halten zusammen. Oft arbeiten ganze Familien mit

Der Weltcup ist auch für die Gastronomen der Startschuss in die Wintersaison. Ewald Tschanhenz etwa ist Hotelier im nahe gelegenen Sankt Gallenkirch; er hat ein paar Tage eher als eingeplant wieder aufgesperrt, um kurzfristig vier Snowboard-Nationalmannschaften zu beherbergen. Der begeisterte Hotelier war auch einige Jahre Bürgermeister des Ortes. Dass der Weltcup zum Erfolg und so zu einem Aushängeschild für die gesamte Region geworden ist, liegt für Tschanhenz vor allem an einem: dem engen Zusammenhalt der Montafoner. Nicht selten sind ganze Familien als Helfer dabei, so wie die von Eva-Maria Speckle. An einer Tafel notiert die 27-Jährige die Ergebnisse der Heats und die nächsten Paarungen, ihr älterer Bruder moderiert derweil im Zieleinlauf das Renngeschehen, auch die Eltern helfen mit. Von Anfang an, jedes Jahr wieder.

Nach 24 Läufen steht schließlich fest, wer auf das Siegertreppchen darf. Das hat bis gerade eben noch zwischen Kisten irgendwo im Hintergrund gestanden und wird nun in Windeseile zusammen mit der aufblasbaren und mit den Logos der Sponsoren beklebten Aufstellwand über die Bande gehievt. Anschließend drapieren Helfer die Champagner-Flaschen auf den Stufen. Die Sieger werden sich hier gleich einen kräftigen Schluck gönnen und feiern, und auch die Montafoner dürfen zufrieden mit sich sein – der Weltcup ist in diesem Jahr wieder einmal sehr erfolgreich über die Bühne gegangen.

Die Region

Montafon

Mächtige Bergketten umrahmen das Tal im Süden Vorarlbergs. 11 Orte bieten alles, was Aktive und Naturgenießer schätzen: eindrucksvolle Wanderwege und Mountainbikestrecken, flotte Pisten und Freeride-Hänge. Dazu jede Menge attraktive Programme zum Ausprobieren und Mitmachen.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich