Webcams Snow Report Weather Forecast Avalanche Report Current Information
Lech am Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Welcome to the club!

Ski-Club Arlberg

Global, regional, successful: the Ski-Club Arlberg counts more than 7,000 people across the globe as its members. Although it’s not that easy to join. Patrick Ortlieb – Olympic champion and chairman – talks about rules, fame and reputation.

TEXT: STEFAN NINK

All right: tennis and Wimbledon – that would perhaps be an appropriate comparison. St. Andrews in Scotland and golf would be another. Or Monte Carlo, if you’re into rally sports. But otherwise? “Otherwise there aren’t that many you can think of,” Patrick Ortlieb says. The Olympic champion, World Cup winner and downhill world champion sits in his hotel restaurant in Oberlech and is thinking about what other names he can compare his club to. Patrick is chairman of the Ski-Club Arlberg – Austria’s oldest ski club that’s still in existence (and thus also one of the oldest in the world). Founded in 1901, with members in more than 70 countries, it’s a club of both global appeal and regional significance: the club, Patrick says, unites the Arlberg region…also with neighbouring Tyrol. “At the same time, even in Tokyo, there are enough club members for regular meetings to be organised.”

There are even enough members in Tokyo to organise regular meetings.

Patrick Ortlieb
Patrick Ortlieb Skiclub Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Skiclub Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Ex-professional skiier and hotelier: Patrick Ortlieb at his hotel in Oberlech

As is often the case with such clubs: the beginnings were modest. Six friends were skiing from St. Anton to St. Christoph on 3 January 1901. During a stop-off for lunch at the Hotel Hospiz at 1,800 metres, they came up with the idea of founding a ski club, “enchanted by nature, inspired by the sport, imbued with the necessity to create a modest meeting point on the Arlberg for the friends of this noble pursuit”, is what they wrote in the guest book. There was probably never a lunch break that was more momentous for the Arlberg region. The club already had one hundred members just two years later.

… enchanted by nature, inspired by the sport, imbued with the necessity to create a modest meeting point on the Arlberg for the friends of this noble pursuit…

Founders of the Ski-club Arlbergs
Skigebiet Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Members must be skiers and must ski regularly on the Arlberg

There are around 7,800 today. All skiers, Patrick says, and this needs to be confirmed by two sponsors because otherwise applicants aren’t admitted. People interested in joining must furthermore have been skiing in the region for at least three years beforehand. The admission fee of a good € 200.00 includes the famous club sweater, which club members wear just as proudly as they do the pin with the two crossed skis and the ski pole in the centre. And visitors in need of more devotional items are able to stock up at the club store in Lech where members (and only members) may purchase the entire fashion range. That creates cohesion, the weekly club meetings at the Arlberg are always well attended. A recent meeting in Stuttgart also saw 370 club members turning up, “and, as I said,” Patrick says, “meetings could even be organised in Tokyo.”

Encouraging new talent is the club’s priority
The Ski-Club Arlberg has long been the most successful club in the world by medal count; the list of winners is epic and ranges from Rudi Matt (slalom gold in Innsbruck 1936) to Lorraine Huber, who won gold at the Freeride World Tour in 2017. But it’s still important to Patrick that the encouragement of young talent remains the club’s top priority. If you asked 17 children on the way to school in the morning if they knew the Ski-Club Arlberg, at least 15, he says, would reveal themselves as members. “Should that ever no longer be the case, then something will have gone terribly wrong.”

Further informations

The region

Lech Zürs am Arlberg

Guests from around the world value the unrivalled quality found only here in the birthplace of skiing. Lech Zürs am Arlberg is dramatically situated in the heart of Austria’s largest contiguous ski area. Flourishing meadows and exciting trails surround this enthralling, picturesque village in summer.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht Service
Lech am Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Willkommen im Club!

Ski-club Arlberg

Global, regional, erfolgreich: Der Ski-Club Arlberg hat über 7000 Mitglieder weltweit. Dabei ist es gar nicht so einfach, aufgenommen zu werden. Olympiasieger und Ski-Club-Obmann Patrick Ortlieb über Regeln, Ruhm und Renommee

TEXT: STEFAN NINK

Also gut: Wimbledon beim Tennis – das wäre vielleicht ein passender Vergleich. St. Andrews in Schottland beim Golf natürlich. Oder Monte Carlo, wenn man Rallyesport mag. Aber sonst? „Sonst fallen einem da nicht viele ein“, meint Patrick Ortlieb. Der Olympiasieger, Weltcupgewinner und Abfahrtsweltmeister sitzt im Restaurant seines Hotels in Oberlech und denkt darüber nach, mit wem man seinen Verein vergleichen könnte. Ortlieb ist Obmann des Ski-Clubs Arlberg, und der Ski-Club Arlberg ist – Achtung: der älteste noch existierende Skiclub Österreichs (und damit auch einer der ältesten der Welt). Gegründet 1901, Mitglieder in über 70 Ländern, ein Verein mit globaler Strahlkraft und gleichzeitig regionaler Bedeutung: Der Club, meint Ortlieb, vereine den Arlberg, auch mit dem Nachbarland Tirol. „Und gleichzeitig gibt es selbst in Tokio genügend Vereinsmitglieder, um einen Stammtisch zu organisieren.“

Selbst in Tokio gibt es genug Vereinsmitglieder, um einen Stammtisch zu organisieren.

Patrick Ortlieb
Patrick Ortlieb Skiclub Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Skiclub Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Ex-Profi und Hotelier: Patrick Ortlieb in seinem Hotel in Oberlech

Wie das bei solchen Vereinen oft so ist: Die Anfänge waren bescheiden. Am 3. Januar 1901 sind sechs Freunde im Pulverschnee von St. Anton nach St. Christoph unterwegs. Während einer Mittagspause im Hotel Hospiz auf 1800 Meter Höhe kommen sie auf die Idee, einen Skiclub zu gründen, „durch die Natur entzückt, durch den Sport begeistert, durchdrungen von der Notwendigkeit, am Arlberg einen bescheidenen Sammelpunkt für die Freunde dieses edlen Vergnügens zu schaffen“, halten sie im Gästebuch fest. Wahrscheinlich war nie eine Mittagspause folgenreicher für die Region am Arlberg. Bereits zwei Jahre später hatte der Verein einhundert Mitglieder.

…durch die Natur entzückt, durch den Sport begeistert, durchdrungen von der Notwendigkeit, am Arlberg einen bescheidenen Sammelpunkt für die Freunde dieses edlen Vergnügens zu schaffen…

Gründer des Ski-club Arlbergs
Skigebiet Arlberg © Gert Krautbauer / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Mitglieder müssen Skifahrer sein und regelmäßig am Arlberg fahren

Heute sind es etwa 7800. Alles Skifahrer, betont Ortlieb, zwei Bürgen müssten das bestätigen, vorher werde niemand aufgenommen. Außerdem müssen Neumitglieder zuvor mindestens drei Jahre lang zum Skifahren in der Region gewesen sein. In der Aufnahmegebühr von gut 200 Euro inkludiert ist der berühmte Vereinspullover, den Clubmitglieder ebenso stolz tragen wie die Anstecknadel mit den beiden gekreuzten Ski und dem Skistock in der Mitte. Wer mehr Devotionalien wünscht, kann sich im Vereins-Store in Lech eindecken, in dem Mitglieder (und nur die) eine komplette Modelinie kaufen können. So etwas schafft Zusammenhalt, die wöchentlichen Club-Stammtische am Arlberg sind ausnahmslos gut besucht. Auch bei einem Treffen in Stuttgart kamen neulich 370 Clubmitglieder zusammen. „Und, wie gesagt“, meint Patrick Ortlieb, „selbst in Tokio würde das funktionieren.“

Nachwuchsförderung ist die oberste Prämisse des Vereins
Zählt man die gewonnenen Medaillen, ist der Ski-Club Arlberg längst der erfolgreichste Verein der Welt; die Liste der Sieger ist episch und reicht von Rudi Matt (Slalom-Gold in Innsbruck 1936) bis Lorraine Huber, die 2017 Gold bei der Freeride World Tour holte. Dennoch sei und bleibe die Nachwuchsförderung die oberste Prämisse des Vereins, das ist Ortlieb wichtig. Wenn man morgens siebzehn Kinder auf dem Weg zur Schule fragen würde, ob sie den Ski-Club Arlberg kennen: Mindestens fünfzehn, meint er, würden sagen, dass sie Mitglied seien. „Wenn das einmal nicht mehr so ist, dann ist etwas gewaltig schiefgelaufen.“

Weitere Informationen

Die Region

Lech Zürs am Arlberg

Wo das Skifahren seinen Ursprung hat, kann man sich auf beste Qualität verlassen. Gäste aus aller Welt schätzen Lech Zürs am Arlberg, mitten im größten zusammenhängenden Skigebiet Österreichs gelegen. Im Sommer beeindruckt das malerische Dorf mit blühenden Wiesen und anregenden Wegen.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich