Webcams Avalanche Report Current Service Informations Weather & Traffic
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN
Holidays + Architecture

JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt

The “Johann” displays a keen awareness of location and community

What was formerly the restaurant “Gasthaus Engel”, a meeting place for farmers en route from Wolfurt to the so called Ried area in the country side, is now the “Johann”: a bold design statement in the historic heart of Lauterach. The opening of this new combined hotel and restaurant represents the first step in the upgrading of Lauterach’s Alter Markt, which was once the very centre of the village. However, this district lost much of its significance within the community following the construction of a major thoroughfare in the 1960s.

It quickly became clear that a simple renovation of the old inn would not be enough to create a new establishment in line with modern quality standards. A project was therefore registered in the village centre by local company i+R as the new owner and developer, by Rafaela and Alexander Berger as the new tenants and by the Lauterach authorities themselves. The proposed building was truly breathtaking in terms of both its design and function.

We want to offer a high-quality experience that is still in touch with everyday life, and the outstanding architecture helps us in our efforts. It’s beautiful and functional in equal measure.

Rafaela Berger, tenant and restaurateur
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN

The height and size of the timber-hybrid house has been tailored to match that of neighbouring structures. Even the colour of the facades, a warm rusty red, is also featured on other timber buildings nearby.

Inside the “Johann”, the guest area remains true to the classic inn design with a pair of parlours – one large, one small. The hotel boasts a total of 15 rooms, whose bright and airy nature contrasts perfectly with the deep rich hues of the parlours. All installations and decorations were meticulously chosen to maintain a subtle impression. Artworks by Marco Spitzar adorn the walls, even including a “Johann” itself. Despite these sober touches, the “Johann” remains a bold statement on account of its unmistakable design and the wonderful experience enjoyed by guests.

The “Johann” was honoured with the AIT-Award 2020 in the category “Gastronomy”.

Architecture: Ludescher + Lutz Architekten ZT GmbH, Bregenz

JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN

Contact and booking

  • JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt
    Bundesstraße 85
    A-6923 Lauterach

    T +43 5574 70722
    E info@gasthaus-johann.at
    Send non-binding inquiry

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN
Urlaub + Architektur

JOHANN – Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt

Der „Johann“ spricht die Sprache eines sorgsamen Umgangs mit Raum und Dorf

Einst als Gasthaus Engel Treffpunkt von Landwirten auf dem Weg von Wolfurt hinaus ins Ried, setzt der neue Gasthof „Johann“ ein mutiges Statement in mitten des historischen Kerns von Lauterach. Mit der Eröffnung dieses neuen Hotels und Gasthauses ist der erste Baustein zur Aufwertung des Alten Marktes – dem ehemaligen Dorfzentrum Lauterachs – gesetzt worden. Denn durch den Bau einer Verkehrsachse in den 1960er Jahren hat die Gemeinde ihren Dorfkern als Ort der Begegnung verloren.

Schnell wurde klar, dass durch die alleinige Sanierung des alten Gasthauses kein neuer Betrieb mit den heutigen Qualitätsstandards entstehen kann. So haben sich das ansässige Unternehmen i+R als neuer Eigentümer und Bauherr, die neuen Pächter Rafaela und Alexander Berger und die Gemeinde Lauterach mit einem Projekt ins Dorfzentrum eingeschrieben, das nicht nur in seiner Funktion, sondern auch als Gebäude bemerkenswert ist.

Wir möchten hier ein hochwertiges und dennoch alltagsnahes Angebot stellen. Die hochwertige Architektur hilft uns dabei, unsere Arbeit gut machen zu können. Der Raum funktioniert und ist schön.

Rafaela Berger, Pächterin und Gastronomin
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN

Das Holzhybridhaus ist mit seiner Höhe und Größe an den bestehenden baulichen Bestand der Umgebung angepasst. Auch die Farbe der Fassaden – ein warmes Rostrot – ist an einigen benachbarten Holzhäusern bereits zu finden.

Im Inneren besteht der Gastraum aus einer kleinen und einer großen Stube, getreu nach dem Prinzip alter Wirtshäuser. Das Hotel umfasst 15 Zimmer, die hell und freundlich gestaltet sind. Die Gaststuben hingegen sind in satte, dunkle Töne getaucht. Die Einrichtung und Dekoration wurde wohl ausgewählt und bewusst schlicht gehalten. An den Wänden hängen gut platziert Kunstwerke von Marco Spitzar, selbst einen „Johann“ gibt es hier. Das Hotel „Johann“ nimmt sich zurück, wo notwendig, und ist dennoch ein mutiges Statement, wiederkennbar durch seine Gestaltung und die Stunden, die Gäste dort verbringen.

Architektur: Ludescher + Lutz Architekten ZT GmbH, Bregenz

JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN
JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt in Lauterach © Ulla Wälder / Hotel JOHANN

Kontakt und Buchung

  • JOHANN - Hotel und Gasthaus am Alten Markt
    Bundesstraße 85
    A-6923 Lauterach

    T: +43 5574 70722
    E: info@gasthaus-johann.at
    Unverbindliche Anfrage senden