Webcams Snow Report Weather Forecast Avalanche Report Current Information
Stadthotel Bar10Zimmer, Dornbirn (c) BAR10ZIMMER
Holidays + Architecture

BAR10ZIMMER

Historical, modern, sustainable: a charming city hotel as the new entrance of Dornbirn

Dornbirn, the largest city in Vorarlberg, has yet another small city hotel since summer 2018. A historic townhouse was transformed into BAR10ZIMMER, a hotel including a bar, kitchen and ten rooms. The house at the entrance of “Marktstraße”, the historic centre of Dornbirn, tells history. The building structure of two houses once housed a bakery and a café. By a contemporary conversion, the old garage next door was converted into a new unit, which is currently used as a hairdresser’s shop. On the parterre of the revitalised house there is a modern bar with a small kitchen, which exclusively serves dishes with regional products and is a meeting place for guests, locals and passers-by.

To the builders and building owners it seemed obvious to open the ground floor as a bar and meeting place to the outside and therefore ensure a smooth transition. To an extent, the city gets back a building that continues its history in a new way.

Stadthotel Bar10Zimmer, Dornbirn (c) BAR10ZIMMER
Stadthotel Bar10Zimmer, Dornbirn (c) BAR10ZIMMER

During the conversion, only what needed to be renewed was renewed. The town house’s entire furnishing is sustainable and reduced to the essentials whereby the mixed furniture is unique and selected finds resulting from travels. Artworks by Stoph Sauter decorate the walls of the guest rooms. Currently – because when a piece is sold, another artist’s work takes its place. Masterly revitalised, the BAR10ZIMMER gives the city of Dornbirn a lively, charming and an architecturally valuable place to stay.

Building construction: Jürgen Krämer GmbH, Lustenau, Vorarlberg

Contact and booking

Webcams Schneebericht Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service
Stadthotel Bar10Zimmer, Dornbirn (c) BAR10ZIMMER
Urlaub + Architektur

BAR10ZIMMER

Historisch, modern, nachhaltig: ein charmantes Stadthotel als neues Entrée von Dornbirn

Dornbirn, die größte Stadt Vorarlbergs, ist seit Sommer 2018 um ein kleines Stadthotel reicher. Aus einem historischen Stadthaus entstand BAR10ZIMMER, ein Hotel mit Bar, Küche und zehn Zimmern. Das Haus am Eingang zur Marktstraße, dem historischen Zentrum von Dornbirn, erzählt Geschichte. In der baulichen Struktur von zwei Häusern war früher eine Konditorei und ein Café untergebracht. Die alte Garage nebenan wurde durch einen zeitgenössischen Umbau zu einer neuen Einheit, die derzeit als Friseurladen genutzt wird. Im Parterre des Hauses entstanden eine moderne Bar mit kleiner Küche, die ausschließlich regionale Produkte verarbeitet, und ein Begegnungsraum für Gäste, Einheimische und Vorbeigehende ist.

Den Bauherren und Betreibern erschien es naheliegend, das Erdgeschoß als Barküche und Begegnungsort nach außen hin zu öffnen und für einen fließenden Übergang zu sorgen. Die Stadt erhält hier ein Gebäude zurück, das die Geschichte auf neue Art weiterführt.

Stadthotel Bar10Zimmer, Dornbirn (c) BAR10ZIMMER
Stadthotel Bar10Zimmer, Dornbirn (c) BAR10ZIMMER

Beim Umbau wurde ausschließlich das erneuert, was erneuert werden musste. Nachhaltig und auf das Nötigste reduziert ist die gesamte Einrichtung des Stadthauses. Das zusammengewürfelte Mobiliar besteht aus ausgesuchten Fundstücken von Reisen. Kunstwerke von Stoph Sauter zieren die Wände der Gästezimmer. Derzeit – denn wird ein Stück verkauft, nimmt ein Werk eines anderen Künstlers seinen Platz ein. Gekonnt revitalisiert verleiht das BAR10ZIMMER der Stadt Dornbirn einen lebendigen, charmanten und architektonisch wertvollen Ort mit Aufenthaltsqualität.

Bauausführung: Jürgen Krämer GmbH, Lustenau, Vorarlberg

Kontakt und Buchung