Webcams Lawinenbericht AKTUELLER Service Wetter/Verkehr
Jassen Montafonertisch Krone Schruns © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Places of encounter

Meeting at the Montafon table

This is where people come together or as the people in Montafon say, ‘Kon’d’Lüt zemma’.

“We’ve got a cosy bar here but most people are drawn to the Montafon tables in the lounge”, says Bianca Mangard, the landlady at the Krone in Schruns. They’re real gems, the oldest were commissioned in 1823. Crowns have been inlaid like coats of arms into some of them while others have been decorated with flowers, tendrils and diamonds. Bianca Mangard runs her hand over the marquetry pattern, which appears almost three-dimensional. Pear, cherry, oak, beech, walnut, elm and maple are still used today by St. Gallenkirch cabinetmakers to achieve this effect, using only local woods that have been air-dried for 25 years.

Montafoner Tische © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Montafonerstube Montafonertisch in der Krone Schruns © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Very practical: slabs of slate
“You can put hot pots and pans on the slabs of slate in the centre without needing coasters and guests playing cards can chalk up the scores on them.”

Bianca Mangard

It can easily take around 100 working hours to complete the artistic inlays. And then the table will last – not only for a lifetime but also for the next generation and the one after that. Most of these tables are still with Montafon families today. In the past, they were the central meeting places for dining, playing cards, socialising: “You can put hot pots and pans on the slabs of slate in the centre without needing coasters and guests playing cards can chalk up the scores on them.” Montafon tables may not only be found at the Krone but also at Gasthaus Löwen in neighbouring Tschagguns. This is where people come together or as the people in Montafon say, ‘Kon’d’Lüt zemma’.

Kässpätzle am Montafoner Tisch © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Jassen Montafonertisch Krone Schruns © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Gasthof Krone in Schruns

How about a round of Jass? Playing cards is also something you can do at Montafon tables

Information

More Stories

The region

Montafon

Mighty chains of mountains ring the valley in southern Vorarlberg and 11 villages provide everything activity and nature enthusiasts appreciate: scenic hiking and mountain bike trails, as well as fast ski runs and freeriding slopes. All this is coupled with an attractive events programme that will inspire you to join in and try something new.

Bodensee Germany Switzerland Switzerland Austria

Schneebericht Lawinenbericht Webcams Wetter/Verkehr
Jassen Montafonertisch Krone Schruns © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Orte der Begegnung

Zusammenkommen am Montafonertisch

Hier „kon’d’Lüt zemma“, wie die Montafoner sagen.

„Wir haben auch eine gemütliche Bar, aber die meisten zieht es in die Stube an die Montafonertische“, sagt Bianca Mangard, Gastgeberin in der Krone in Schruns. Echte Prachtstücke sind das, die ältesten 1823 in Auftrag gegeben. In manche ist die Krone wie ein Wappen eingelassen, andere zieren Blumen, Ranken, Rauten. Bianca Mangard streicht über das Intarsien-Muster, das fast dreidimensional wirkt. Birne, Kirsche, Eiche, Buche, Nussbaum, Ulme und Ahorn verwenden die Kunst tischler aus St. Gallenkirch noch heute, um diesen Effekt zu erzielen, ausschließlich heimische Hölzer, die zuvor 25 Jahre lang an der Luft getrocknet wurden.

Montafoner Tische © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Montafonerstube Montafonertisch in der Krone Schruns © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Schön praktisch: Die Schieferplatte
„Auf der Schieferplatte in der Mitte kann man heiße Töpfe und Pfannen abstellen ohne Untersetzer, und beim Kartenspielen schreiben die Gäste mit Kreide den Spielstand drauf.“

Bianca Mangard

100 Arbeitsstunden kommen leicht zu-sammen, bis die kunstvollen Einlege-arbeiten abgeschlossen sind. Und dann hält der Tisch – nicht nur ein Leben lang, sondern auch das der nächsten und übernächsten Generation. Die meisten dieser Tische stehen bis heute bei Montafoner Familien, früher waren sie der zentrale Treffpunkt zum Essen, Kartenspielen, Beisammensein: „Auf der Schieferplatte in der Mitte kann man heiße Töpfe und Pfannen abstellen ohne Untersetzer, und beim Kartenspielen schreiben die Gäste mit Kreide den Spielstand drauf.“ Neben der Krone finden sich auch im Gasthaus Löwen im benachbarten Tschagguns noch Montafonertische. Hier „kon’d’Lüt zemma“, wie die Montafoner sagen.

Kässpätzle am Montafoner Tisch © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus
Jassen Montafonertisch Krone Schruns © Dietmar Denger / Vorarlberg Tourismus

Genießen im Gasthof Krone in Schruns

Wie wär’s mit einer Runde Jass? Auch Kartenspielen geht gut am Montafonertisch

Informationen

Weiterlesen

Die Region

Montafon

Mächtige Bergketten umrahmen das Tal im Süden Vorarlbergs. 11 Orte bieten alles, was Aktive und Naturgenießer schätzen: eindrucksvolle Wanderwege und Mountainbikestrecken, flotte Pisten und Freeride-Hänge. Dazu jede Menge attraktive Programme zum Ausprobieren und Mitmachen.

Bodensee Deutschland Schweiz Schweiz Österreich