Webcams Current Snow Report Avalanche Report Weather & Traffic
Bridge | Landscape

Leidtobelbrücke

Leidtobelbrücke
Leidtobelbrücke unterhalb von Hirschegg
Massive Holzstämme der Leidtobelbrücke
Kulturweg: Leidtobelbrücke

Factbox

  • This covered bridge was until 1930 part of the old main traffic route. At 18 meters, it is the second longest of eleven roofed bridges (Höfler bridge 33 meters) in the valley. From Riezlern led the only road on the districts Zwerwald and Letze on the Breitach, through the Leidtobel, below the parish church Hirschegg over in the Dürenboden to Mittelberg. In February 1736, the wooden bridge became a robbery of the flames for setting fire to a vagrant villain. In 1840, under the direction of the carpenter Leopold Berchtold, today’s 18 m long bridge was built. It impresses with its impressive massive construction and has coped well with the heavy traffic of the old days. In 1926 and 2005, the Leidtobel Bridge withstood devastating floods that swept along many bridges and paths in the valley. The massive foundations braved the mighty floods of the Breitach.

    Presented by: Kleinwalsertal Tourismus eGen, Author: Kleinwalsertal Tourismus eGen

  • Approach:

    Route Planner